South London

The Fox and Grapes

The Fox and Grapes

| South London

Michelin starred chef Claude Bosi has joined up with his brother to set up this pub/restaurant in the heart of wealthy Wimbledon. This has a more British state of affairs from a place that steers more towards restaurant than pub.

Restaurant details

Address: 
9 Camp Road, Wimbledon Common, London SW19 4UN
Nearest station: Wimbledon
Telephone number: 020 8619 1300
More info: 
Bar area
• Bedrooms available

Map

Swap Start/End
9 Camp Road, Wimbledon Common, London SW19 4UN

 

Critic reviews - total score 6.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on September 25, 2011
"This is the sort of place, I bet, where the locals are so loyal that, if you say anything mean, they track you down and beat you to death." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed on April 27, 2011
"The Bosi brothers are within a fox’s whisker of cracking the gastropub formula but more of their Gallic charm would go a long way to making this welcome addition to the London scene perfect." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7
John Lanchester Guardian Estimated score
Reviewed on April 16, 2011
"It all works well, and there's nothing amateur about the Fox and Grapes. If I lived locally, I'd regard it as very good news." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Hermano Primero Dos Hermanos Estimated score
Reviewed on April 08, 2011
"For me the main problem with the Fox and Grapes is that whilst the kitchen is capable I'd like to experience its more creative cooking, er, chops. But it seems that may only be possible in the evening..." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 07, 2011
"(There was) an unbalanced, mostly not terrifically appealing - a subjective judgment, I agree - list of dishes from which, for the main course, we ended up ordering Patrick's burger with tomato relish and blue cheese, and Cumberland sausage on buttered mash with red onion gravy." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on April 02, 2011
"Despite the decent quality of most of what we ate... we struggled to warm to the Fox and Grapes. A long wait for our main courses, and the "yeah, it's coming"-style response of our waitress, highlighted the problem with gastropubs in general... the food may be of restaurant quality, but the service is distinctly pubbish." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed by February 24, 2011
"Highlights included a square chunk of roast pork belly. The skin looked dense but was as crisp as fat Pringles, while the meat below was full-flavoured and not too fatty; masterfully cooked." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on February 21, 2011
"Main courses... showed an épater-la-bourgeoisie determination to lace almost all dishes with the sort of calorific content we’d guess Wimbledon’s ladies-who-lunch would normally go some way to avoid." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Cat McGovern View London
Reviewed on February 21, 2011
"It is undeniable that the food at the Fox and Grapes is exceptional." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Nick Harman Foodepedia Estimated score
Reviewed on February 21, 2011
"The menu reads simply but is full of things you want to eat such as the Herefordshire snail lasagne. When it arrives I can tell from the aroma it’s going to be good and by golly it is." READ REVIEW

 
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

0
Shares