Hedone

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/38/23/9c/1220_hedone_132791436939.jpg
301-303 Chiswick High Road, London W4 4HH
Latest critic review: October 05, 2014
Critics' score: 8 out of 10



Former blogger Mikael Jonsson has created his ideal restaurant in Chiswick, with an emphasis on freshly sourced ingredients.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed on October 05, 2014
"Hedone is expensive, but worth saving up for. If you want somewhere that turns on the style and gives you an extraordinary array of tastes in one sitting, head to Jonsson's Chiswick extravaganza. Just don't be nursing a hangover." READ REVIEW
Zoe Wililams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 29, 2012
"It's quite fussy but, for the fuss, OK value. I personally would come back for the smoked potato, but that's just me." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on January 23, 2012
"I am convinced, objectively, that Hedone is a very good restaurant, possibly world-class. But I think I'd rather have a pizza. Sorry." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on October 30, 2011
"This dining room gave me such pleasure and left us with a rounded sense of satisfaction and replete wellbeing, without self-conscious fuss." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on September 24, 2011
"(Jonsson's) cooking is all about getting the very best possible ingredients – in which this country is rich, much richer than it realises – and then emphasising rather than denaturing their flavours. At its best, Hedone does this brilliantly." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Tony Turnbull Times
Reviewed on September 10, 2011
"I suspect that, like a lot of lawyers, he has a forensic eye for detail, drilling down to the purity of flavour in his ingredients, but by the end I felt we were paying for him to indulge his passions and not our own." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed by September 07, 2011
"Hedone is from the Greek word for pleasure and for your food nerd, this is close to Nirvana. Regular punters? I’m not so sure." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 28, 2011
"(Jonsson's) own food has remarkable clarity. Effort is expended in tracking down produce that is best in show - if possible in the UK - and effecting interesting, fortuitous introductions." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Hermano Primero Dos Hermanos
Reviewed on July 27, 2011
"I have to fess up and say I’m already a little bit in love with Hedone to the extent that I almost considered cancelling a recent trip as it would mean not visiting for a couple of weeks." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on July 26, 2011
"Hedone's not perfect, but it's one of the most interesting and accomplished restaurants to have opened in London for a long time." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
 





More information

Address301-303 Chiswick High Road, London W4 4HH
Telephone number 0208 747 0377
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
trainChiswick Park
Opening timesTuesday - Thursday 6.30-10pm
Friday & Satusday 12.30 - 2.30pm, 6.30 - 10pm

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares