Review

Dean Street Townhouse Hot


69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 3SE
Latest critic review: February 26, 2010
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 7.5 out of 10
Write Review

Coming hot on the heels of Pizza East, Nick Jones extends his Soho House empire with another hotel and restaurant space in Dean Street. This 'glorious cream Georgian building, originally home to the Gargolye Club' (their words), has 41 bedrooms alongside a traditional English dining room, seating 120. The all-day menu will include British favourites like Dorset crab and baked cod as well as afternoon tea, weekend brunch and weekly Sunday roast.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on April 23, 2010
"Rarely have I found such a dashing place serving such crashing food." READ REVIEW

Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on February 27, 2010
"Many joints have tried to create the perfect French brasserie serving delectably simple English food, one of us sagely observed, and this is the first to crack the combi­nation." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on February 21, 2010
"Dean Street Townhouse is a knowing place. A clever place. A decoupage of associations, assumptions and ambitions. It may be too clever by half." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on February 12, 2010
"What can I say? I want to be different and complain about everything, but this is exceptionally well done." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Jay Rayner Guardian
Reviewed on January 31, 2010
"There is, however, absolutely no excuse for taking peasant food and gussying it up to such a degree that it loses all sense of purpose." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 30, 2010
"Preferential treatment or not, the assortment of native and rock oysters was beautiful, and the roast chicken for two was fat and swaggering with perfect stuffing and roast potatoes, and the mixed grill was a macho blowout bang out of the Seventies. " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on January 06, 2010
"Propping up the bar, or dividing that chicken, or ordering high tea (yes, high tea! Fish fingers! Macaroni cheese!) – all of them make me happy, which is what a good restaurant’s all about." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Toby Young Independent
Reviewed on December 20, 2009
"A mid-range hotel restaurant is new territory for Jones and Caring, but the fact that the Townhouse has proved such an instant hit suggests they've got it right." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Hermano Primero Dos Hermanos
Reviewed by December 10, 2009
"...like a lot of visually impressive gaffs the food is a bit of an afterthought. Things get worse over time once restaurateurs realise the average punter has pretty low standards and that the food has to be just good enough." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on December 10, 2009
"Dean Street Townhouse might not be for everyone, but it’s certainly interesting." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on December 03, 2009
"This was one pretty sumptuous meal that left us feeling completely well after we had eaten it and for the rest of the day." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on November 27, 2009
"Many people will be prepared to forego quite a lot of originality and ambition for such a high and consistent level of achievement." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.5  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
I love this place. Delicious seasonal choices on the menu with new additions added weekly when possible. Excellent staff with a sense of humour and a great choice in eyewear. This Soho joint has an exciting buzz and comfortable established feel to it.
The mixed grill rates highly in my book as do the Pork cheeks with parsnip mash, and the pan fried Ray. Afternoon tea with fizz looks excellent but I'm as yet to try it.
Hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I do.

Bon appetite!
Overall rating 
 
9.0
lucy pope Reviewed by lucy pope February 22, 2010

Hooray for DSTH

I love this place. Delicious seasonal choices on the menu with new additions added weekly when possible. Excellent staff with a sense of humour and a great choice in eyewear. This Soho joint has an exciting buzz and comfortable established feel to it.
The mixed grill rates highly in my book as do the Pork cheeks with parsnip mash, and the pan fried Ray. Afternoon tea with fizz looks excellent but I'm as yet to try it.
Hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I do.

Bon appetite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Allowing for the fact that it's December, it was pretty impressive that Dean Street townhouse was packed to the rafters on a Monday night just a week after it first opened to the public. What's more impressive is the fact that it looks as though it's been here forever. A long zinc bar curves along one side of the room while the main restaurant area is split into two key areas - bustling banquette seating in front of the bar and cosy tables and armchairs at the front of the room (which follow through into a parlour-style room with a roaring fire which would be a great place to while away a winter's afternoon).

Our meal here fell into two clear categories - everyone our Dad ordered was brilliant. Our food, on the other hand, was intermittently successful. So in the absence of having a Mr Hanly you can bring with you - know that he ordered the twice-baked smoked haddock souffle, the rib steak with bernaise sauce and the rhubarb fool - all of which was thrillingly, hummingly good. We had the mushrooms on toast which was a little under-seasoned and the seafood cocktail to start. The seafood in question - lobster, crab and king prawns were sweet and fresh, but the cocktail sauce was too tangy to do the dish justice. Mains were better all round - the Dover Sole was great, (although the accompanying brown butter sauce was too salty) and the mixed grill was a plate of meaty loveliness. For dessert we shared the sherry trifle (how could you not order that?!) but, as we tweeted about on the night, it would have been useful to know that there'd be almonds on top, so we could have ordered it without them (we both hate nuts).

Service from the head waiter was great - but the timing by the other waiting staff needs work. Every course was delivered well before the accompaning wine arrived, which was just irritating.

There was a lot we really liked about this place - it's got a great buzz, the look of the room is fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The menu is simple with loads you'd want to order on it. If they can iron out some of the seasoning issues and service timing, this would be a firm favourite of ours. We're definitely going to go back to try the savouries and high tea.
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Catherine Hanly Reviewed by Catherine Hanly December 22, 2009

Buzzy but service could be better

Allowing for the fact that it's December, it was pretty impressive that Dean Street townhouse was packed to the rafters on a Monday night just a week after it first opened to the public. What's more impressive is the fact that it looks as though it's been here forever. A long zinc bar curves along one side of the room while the main restaurant area is split into two key areas - bustling banquette seating in front of the bar and cosy tables and armchairs at the front of the room (which follow through into a parlour-style room with a roaring fire which would be a great place to while away a winter's afternoon).

Our meal here fell into two clear categories - everyone our Dad ordered was brilliant. Our food, on the other hand, was intermittently successful. So in the absence of having a Mr Hanly you can bring with you - know that he ordered the twice-baked smoked haddock souffle, the rib steak with bernaise sauce and the rhubarb fool - all of which was thrillingly, hummingly good. We had the mushrooms on toast which was a little under-seasoned and the seafood cocktail to start. The seafood in question - lobster, crab and king prawns were sweet and fresh, but the cocktail sauce was too tangy to do the dish justice. Mains were better all round - the Dover Sole was great, (although the accompanying brown butter sauce was too salty) and the mixed grill was a plate of meaty loveliness. For dessert we shared the sherry trifle (how could you not order that?!) but, as we tweeted about on the night, it would have been useful to know that there'd be almonds on top, so we could have ordered it without them (we both hate nuts).

Service from the head waiter was great - but the timing by the other waiting staff needs work. Every course was delivered well before the accompaning wine arrived, which was just irritating.

There was a lot we really liked about this place - it's got a great buzz, the look of the room is fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The menu is simple with loads you'd want to order on it. If they can iron out some of the seasoning issues and service timing, this would be a firm favourite of ours. We're definitely going to go back to try the savouries and high tea.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 3SE
trainLeicester Square/ Tottenham Court Road
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners