Hot Dinners

Review

Pizza East Hot


Tea Building, 56 Shoreditch High Street, London, E1 6JJ
Latest critic review: September 26, 2010
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 4.0 out of 10
Write Review


Reviews

Critic Reviews

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on September 26, 2010
"Their food is like the popcorn at a cinema showing only the customers to each other." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Kang Leung London Eater
Reviewed on May 20, 2010
"...I don’t think Pizza East is an intense pizza shrine, it’s good, but somehow I can already picture it becoming the new Belgo ten years from today, once it has lost the chic factor." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Strimpel City AM
Reviewed on January 19, 2010
"The pizza, supposedly the main event, was good but not unparalleled. I am pretty certain you could find equally rewarding pizza at numerous restaurants around town." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 15, 2010
"I genuinely think it reinvigorates the genre, and I wasn’t even anti the pizza genre in the first place. " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Hermano Primero Pizza East
Reviewed on November 28, 2009
"Try and think of it then, as a place for people who believe they’ve outgrown Pizza Express and need to go to somewhere more gourmet." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on November 25, 2009
"But the pizzas... oh, mama. Plump, airy and pleasingly chewy, thicker – in the LA way – than the Neapolitan thin crust, with the tang of sourdough and the crunch of semolina, they are my second favourite pizzas in town, after Franco Manca." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 31, 2009
"This will probably be seen to have been the most successful and influential restaurant opening of 2009." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed by October 29, 2009
"This is one of those restaurants where the experience is better than some of the food" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Michelle Court View London
Reviewed on October 22, 2009
"The food is impressive and you’ll want to come back to try more of the interesting, inventive menu, but also because you just can’t help but feel at home." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 22, 2009
"...the food’s good and the welcome friendly, so get on down..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 22, 2009
"Of course, giving pleasure is the underlying ethos of the Soho House group and there is little not to like about the low-lit, rugged, uncompromising conversion of what was originally a tea warehouse." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.0  (3)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Me and my 7 year old daughter were plopped by the door one Sunday lunchtime by slightly haughty waitress. Ok so we're not going to be big-spending diners but do they have to make it so obvious? (note to self: don't tip)

My little girl loved the whitebait and pizza we shared but overall this was a disappointing experience even compared to say Pizza Express, which is saying something...
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Paula November 25, 2010

a bit too pleased with itself

Me and my 7 year old daughter were plopped by the door one Sunday lunchtime by slightly haughty waitress. Ok so we're not going to be big-spending diners but do they have to make it so obvious? (note to self: don't tip)

My little girl loved the whitebait and pizza we shared but overall this was a disappointing experience even compared to say Pizza Express, which is saying something...

Was this review helpful to you? 
I went to Pizza East this week with a party of 15 of us . Because of the numbers we had to email our preferences but a set menu of three/four courses to share was £30 - Which I thought a little pricey for a pizza but was pleasantly surprised when I was served some delicious starters which we all passed across to each other sharing the delight. Chicken livers with spicey polenta , mixed beetroot salad, cauliflower carbonara, rocket salad with parmesan and big plates of mixed cheese and meats - I was pretty full by the time the pizza came - it didn't blow my socks off as much as the starters but it was very good.
Very nice decor, a good atmosphere, busy for a monday night , very nice lighting and we were all very well looked after. If you fancy posh pizza - head on down -
Overall rating 
 
7.0
Reviewed by denise seneviratne February 03, 2010

Pizza East

I went to Pizza East this week with a party of 15 of us . Because of the numbers we had to email our preferences but a set menu of three/four courses to share was £30 - Which I thought a little pricey for a pizza but was pleasantly surprised when I was served some delicious starters which we all passed across to each other sharing the delight. Chicken livers with spicey polenta , mixed beetroot salad, cauliflower carbonara, rocket salad with parmesan and big plates of mixed cheese and meats - I was pretty full by the time the pizza came - it didn't blow my socks off as much as the starters but it was very good.
Very nice decor, a good atmosphere, busy for a monday night , very nice lighting and we were all very well looked after. If you fancy posh pizza - head on down -

Was this review helpful to you? 
I visited Pizza East on Sunday with 3 friends for lunch. We were very impressed with the décor of the building and the way that you have retained many of the original features of the building.

We ordered our drinks which were a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. I was very disappointed to find that a very small cranberry juice cost £3. The orange juice was £2.50 which was more understandable as it appeared to be fresh, but the cost of the cranberry juice seemed excessive as it had come out of a carton and was full to the brim of ice, in fact the cost of the small cranberry juice which was not even in a half pint glass cost more than a half pint of beer.

We then ordered our food which was a variety of pizza and two lasagne dishes. The lasagne was not to our satisfaction at all. The presentation of the lasagne was awful. It appeared as a dry lump on the plate, not even a salad garnish was included. The lasagne itself was very dry and tasted bland. There was a lack of tomato in the lasagne and it was difficult to eat because it was so dry. The waitress did not enquire during our meal if everything was ok, and it was difficult to get anyone's attention. When a different waiter came to clear our plates and the lasagne was not finished I tried to explain how disappointed I was with my meal, but he was uninterested and walked off without saying anything.

All in all the visit was a disappointing experience.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by A Diner November 20, 2009

disappointing

I visited Pizza East on Sunday with 3 friends for lunch. We were very impressed with the décor of the building and the way that you have retained many of the original features of the building.

We ordered our drinks which were a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. I was very disappointed to find that a very small cranberry juice cost £3. The orange juice was £2.50 which was more understandable as it appeared to be fresh, but the cost of the cranberry juice seemed excessive as it had come out of a carton and was full to the brim of ice, in fact the cost of the small cranberry juice which was not even in a half pint glass cost more than a half pint of beer.

We then ordered our food which was a variety of pizza and two lasagne dishes. The lasagne was not to our satisfaction at all. The presentation of the lasagne was awful. It appeared as a dry lump on the plate, not even a salad garnish was included. The lasagne itself was very dry and tasted bland. There was a lack of tomato in the lasagne and it was difficult to eat because it was so dry. The waitress did not enquire during our meal if everything was ok, and it was difficult to get anyone's attention. When a different waiter came to clear our plates and the lasagne was not finished I tried to explain how disappointed I was with my meal, but he was uninterested and walked off without saying anything.

All in all the visit was a disappointing experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
AddressTea Building, 56 Shoreditch High Street, London, E1 6JJ
Telephone number 020 7729 1888
trainOld Street
Opening timesMonday to Saturday 12pm - Midnight, Sunday 12pm - 11pm
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area
  • Takeaway available

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login