Hot Dinners

Review

Boulestin Hot


5 St James's Street, London SW1A 1EF
Latest critic review: October 20, 2013
Critics' score: 6 out of 10 Users' score: 9.3 out of 10
Write Review

This popular restaurant closed in 1994 (after opening in 1927) and is now being revived by Joel Kissin - who used to be Terence Conran's partner at Conran restaurants. It is a luxury French bistro with a separate cafe called Café Marcel, offering "lighter fare".

Reviews

Critic Reviews

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on October 20, 2013
"For the main course I had the best daube of beef I’ve had for years, really soft and yearningly melting, collapsing and hot as a fat girl jogging on a beach of celeriac purée which didn’t have quite enough butter in it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on October 14, 2013
"Boulestin is a little bit nutty and Mayfair, and they say crazy things such as, “Ours is the only private courtyard in London,” but it has a curious knack: everything that doesn’t work seems like a quirk, and everything that does, works wonderfully." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 05, 2013
"The food was fine but forgettable: the aping of a slightly different French register from Casse-Croûte done with similar levels of competence but a bit less love." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5.5
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on September 29, 2013
"Marcel Boulestin was clearly a man who believed life is for pleasure, which happens to be a pleasure afforded only those with the dosh. In that sense the new Boulestin hits the mark." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Nicholas Lander FT
Reviewed by September 27, 2013
"I would like Boulestin to flourish. But the (notably conventional) menu needs to be edited to boost quality, the prices trimmed to enhance value (as Gavin Rankin has just done at Bellamy’s up the road in Bruton Place)." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 5
Steve Dinneen City AM
Reviewed on September 25, 2013
"In short, there are loads of places serving food at least as good that won’t leave you with the nagging feeling that you’ve left behind a small but important part of your soul." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4.5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on September 26, 2013
"Rather than trying to impersonate an old master, this Boulestin is a sensitively updated reproduction. It aims to be as classic as a carefully poured glass of old Bordeaux, and is priced accordingly." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Joe Warwick Metro
Reviewed on September 19, 2013
"The Crown Estate is putting a lot of effort into reviving St James’s Street, and no doubt Boulestin, on the back of the success of the similarly themed Balthazar and Brasserie Zédel, made sound business sense both to them and to Kissin. But, at the moment, that’s all it feels like." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.3  (3)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
absolutely awesome. From accommodating us for valentines to the sevice at the table, i am and was impressed. I had the Lobster soup starter (possibly the most flavoursome soup ever) and my wife had the onion soup.. almost a full meal.. we ended up sharing a main.. and this was the risotto.. absolutly perfect. so much so, we were full, but we still had to have dessert.. and wow.. the flourless cake was amazing.

the valentines cocktails, the wine, the water, the table manners.. 10/10

will be visiting again certainly!
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Dillan Vaghela February 14, 2014

Best service i have ever had

absolutely awesome. From accommodating us for valentines to the sevice at the table, i am and was impressed. I had the Lobster soup starter (possibly the most flavoursome soup ever) and my wife had the onion soup.. almost a full meal.. we ended up sharing a main.. and this was the risotto.. absolutly perfect. so much so, we were full, but we still had to have dessert.. and wow.. the flourless cake was amazing.

the valentines cocktails, the wine, the water, the table manners.. 10/10

will be visiting again certainly!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I thought the food was delicious, loved the decor and how the restaurant will spill out onto the fantastic and utterly unique terrace in the spring. The room is really gorgeous and feels like a breathe of fresh air, stylish and bright and light. Food was fantastic and the service charming.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Gretchen November 04, 2013

lovely

I thought the food was delicious, loved the decor and how the restaurant will spill out onto the fantastic and utterly unique terrace in the spring. The room is really gorgeous and feels like a breathe of fresh air, stylish and bright and light. Food was fantastic and the service charming.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Fantastic food, lovely interior, great to have a French Restaurant on my doorstep in St James. Will definitely come back as service and dinner was superb!
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Isabel James September 23, 2013

Boulestin is back!

Fantastic food, lovely interior, great to have a French Restaurant on my doorstep in St James. Will definitely come back as service and dinner was superb!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address5 St James's Street, London SW1A 1EF
Telephone number 020 7930 2030
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainGreen Park
  • Bar area
  • Outside seating (weather permitting)

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login