Shoreditch, Clerkenwell

Brawn

Brawn

Terroirs owners have headed East with their opening of a natural wine bar and bistro, right in the heart of the Columbia Road flower market. Head chef is Owen Kenworthy (previously at Terroirs and The Wolseley).

Restaurant details

Address: 49 Columbia Road, Shoreditch, London E2 7RG

Telephone number: 020 7729 5692

Nearest station: Hoxton

Bar area

Map

Swap Start/End

 

Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 7
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on April 10, 2011
"...what's good here is far better than the less-good things are bad. It's fun and simple and enjoyable, and I'd come again in a flash." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on March 27, 2011
"The food was certainly worth a trip, and the kitchen did well to keep up, but it’s best when compiling tapas from cleverly sourced ingredients, less good when it actually has to cook from scratch." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Zoe Strimpel City AM Estimated score
Reviewed on February 01, 2011
"Dinner was beautiful: maximally rich, meaty and expert." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on January 22, 2011
"I'd eaten, single-handedly, a serious helping of pure pork and a sharing-plate of raw beef. My main course of duck confit with lentils was still to come. Would I explode?" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 15, 2011
"The staff were as solicitous, clued-up and good-looking as ever, the dub reggae was right up my street, the other diners were having a whale of a time. Do believe my hype. This place rocks." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on January 07, 2011
"Brawn is just as good (as Terroirs). If anything, we prefer its laid-back vibe (and, for the moment at least, it has the benefit of the primary attentions of the original team). But this is not a style of cuisine that’s every going to be worth crossing town for..." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on January 05, 2011
"...it’s perfectly nice. Not brilliant, not swoonworthy, not knocking any socks off this particular punter. Am I missing something?" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Euan Ferguson Time Out
Reviewed on December 16, 2010
"Brawn is dedicated to eating animals. Not exclusively, but this is clearly where the kitchen's interests lie. And if this doesn't put you off, it could be worth a visit." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed by December 19, 2010
"Food of this quality at this price is rare indeed. I hope there's enough buzz to draw diners all through the week (hell, if I didn't live and work on the opposite side of London I'd be there every other day)." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on December 16, 2010
"...(the) meal was thoughtfully sourced and in parts bewitching (from a menu that changes daily), was perfectly executed and served by un jeune homme sérieux at exactly the right pace." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on December 15, 2010
"...rather than simply being Terroirs' "little sister", Brawn is already shaping up to be a much more mature and accomplished operation." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Hermano Primero Dos Hermanos Estimated score
Reviewed on November 28, 2010
"It does seem to me that places predicated on their wine just can’t get the hang of this cooking lark and so it proved at Brawn. Having said that it’s a pleasant, relaxed place for a drink..." READ REVIEW

 
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares