Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

STK London

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/2b/75/0c/2237_stk-135808152146.jpg
ME by Melia Hotel, 336-337 The Strand, WC2R 1HA
Latest critic review: June 23, 2013


STK London

This new hotel designed by (Norman) Foster + Partners takes over the old BBC Marconi building. As well as a rooftop bar offering great views of London, it's the first non-US outpost of New York steakhouse STK, which has taken over the ground floor restaurant. STK aims to be a more "female friendly" steakhouse, with an emphasis on lighter meals.


Critic reviews - total score 4.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 4 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on June 23, 2013
"A good steak needs depth, which this does not have. Their béarnaise is a catering student's admirable first attempt. Coconut-fried halibut is a fine tranche of overcooked fish on an underdressed noodle salad." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 2
Camilla Long Sunday Times
Reviewed on April 28, 2013
"STK is a snogging restaurant. It is a dripping, slimy, overpowering place where everyone looks as if they’re going somewhere else. It’s a restaurant that thinks it’s a nightclub but charges like a strip joint... Chewy, somehow, and asbestosy, it turned to pink ash in my mouth." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 3.5 Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on March 16, 2013
"As the DJ cranks the Eurythmics' Sweet Dreams up to 11 and lights dim in the heaving, clubby room so we can no longer see what's on our plates, the penny drops: it's a theme restaurant. And the theme is Sex And The City circa 1999. Everyone here is loving it, so what do I know? STK is a couple of vowels short of doing it for this lil' laydee." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed by February 21, 2013
"What with the DJ, the long walk to the hotel loos, the exuberantly sugary fairground-themed pudding (candy floss, popcorn, baggy doughnuts) and the rules, STK is exhausting." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Steve Dinneen City AM
Reviewed on February 06, 2013
"With most of the steaks starting at the £30-mark, it’s not cheap, but neither is it wildly unreasonable. It certainly didn’t seem to be putting many people off – it was jam-packed when I was there." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 22, 2013
"The highlight of the meal, apart from the starters, was the dessert: A Taste of the Fairground, which includes doughnuts, popcorn, toffee apples and marshmallows." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Rosamund Urwin Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 09, 2013
"It is certainly too expensive, takes itself too seriously and is a cardiologist’s nightmare. Yet I still left full, with a smile on my face. STK just needs to drop the “female-friendly” marketing guff, the volume, the calories — and the prices." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: ME by Melia Hotel, 336-337 The Strand, WC2R 1HA

Telephone number: 020 7395 3450

Nearest station: Covent Garden

Nearest Station: Temple

Opening times: Monday – Saturday: 12pm – 1am
Sunday: 12pm – 12am

  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares