Hot Dinners

Review

A Wong Hot


70 Wilton Road, Victoria, London SW1V 1DE
Latest critic review: January 27, 2014
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 0.0 out of 10
Write Review

A Wong has been completely redesigned and aims to bring authentic Chinese cooking to Victoria.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 27, 2014
"I like to go there for lunch and order the entire dim sum menu, which may include a croquette puff where the usual taro is replaced by a soft-boiled quail’s egg; Shanghai dumpling, with vinegar injected into the casing; and a char siu bao pork bun that is honey-roasted, not steamed." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on April 25, 2013
"...I can't, and I won't, totally write off the place. For one thing, plenty of people whose opinions on restaurants are pretty reliable have nothing but good things to say about it so there's always that chance that I somehow chose the ten worst items on the menu or that the kitchen was having a disastrous off-day." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on April 27, 2013
"On and on and on I ate. Brilliant stuff, traditional skills, modern applications, very modern environment, no annoying international fashionista flimflam… you know what this is? This is Modern British Chinese, and I think the first of it I have ever seen." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on April 27, 2013
"Presentation is delicious. A nest of shredded filo cradles slow-cooked tea-smoked eggs dusted with satay powder. If that's not sensory overload enough, a burning stick of cinnamon breathes scented smoke over it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 12, 2013
"A sharing dish of mixed green vegetables with dried shrimp and fermented tofu appeared. Tiny dried shrimp, each one displaying a ripe backbone of muck, in a smattering of broccoli and Chinese leaf. Pleasant but unremarkable. We’d been there two hours." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 4
Nicholas Lander FT
Reviewed on March 22, 2013
"My first dinner here, of diver scallops with ginger and spring onions, razor clams with braised sea cucumber and Scottish beef noodles, was so good that I returned the following day with two friends for dim sum." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed by March 17, 2013
"The joy of A Wong, though – and it is a joy – is in the detail. After a few rounds of duck pancakes (where the still-juicy shredded meat has not just the usual accompaniments of cucumber and spring onion, but minced ginger with slivers of green chilli), we clear the decks in preparation of a deluge of dishes." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on March 16, 2013
"I can’t say I wasn’t disappointed with all this. If I lived down the street and had no friends I might come once a week, but I wouldn’t travel across town for it. It didn’t feel homemade or mother-learnt. It was competently made by a chef who had chosen to do this and he didn’t have the concentration of hardship or the desperate hope." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Kelly Hussey View London
Reviewed on February 11, 2013
"Chinese food is unfairly associated with MSG, grease and post-drink binges, but the reality of this cuisine is far from what we interpret it to be. Thank heavens, then, for the likes of A Wong, which brings real Chinese gastronomy to the capital." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 23, 2013
"...young Mr Wong went on a pilgrimage around China to learn about the cooking traditions of the various regions — a journey reflected, up to a point, in the eight-course tasting menu tried on another visit. His rather oddly divided à la carte exhibits an appealing quirkiness, some welcome unconventionality." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address70 Wilton Road, Victoria, London SW1V 1DE
Telephone number 0207 828 8931
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainVictoria
Opening timesLunch, Tuesday - Saturday: 12pm - 2.30pm
Dinner, Monday - Saturday: 5.30pm - 10.30pm

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login