Review

The Harwood Arms Hot


Walham Grove, Fulham, London, SW6 1QR
Latest critic review: October 15, 2012
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 8.0 out of 10
Write Review

The team behind the Harwood arms are Stephen Williams, former head chef at the Ledbury, Mike Robinson from the Pot Kiln pub in Berkshire and Edwin Vaux from the Vaux brewery. Together their impressive credentials have formed a perfect whole - a gastropub that actually serves what the name suggests.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Jay Rayner London Magazine
Reviewed on October 15, 2012
"In short, the Harwood Arms is that kind of take on rural life that could really only work in one place: here in the city. We’re lucky to have it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Kang Leung London Eater
Reviewed on August 09, 2010
"Just don’t expect to be bowled over with invention, it should be a case of familiar comfort food and perfectly awesome scotch eggs." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on April 11, 2010
"...this stuff is made with an easy, relaxed, even jaunty accomplishment. It’s better than you’d reasonably expect in a gastropub, or, indeed, any rural restaurant in the Cotswolds. " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Giles Coren Times
"In general, gastropub food looks like what you get at my kitchen table. These artfully (if artfully-artlessly) arranged mini-boards would be too poncey for me to put down in front of friends at home. People would laugh. Delicious, but work-intensive. So, bing! Michelin star. " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on October 03, 2009
"This was an utterly satisfying lunch in coolly appealing surroundings: a menu that's full of things you long to eat; cooking that perfectly balances the wholesome with the excitingly full-flavoured; a low-key atmosphere that throws into relief the charm and attentiveness of the waiting staff." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on April 17, 2009
"Stick to the sort of fare that’s more obviously within the capacity of a gastropub-style kitchen, however, and it seems that you will find nothing to complain about at all." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Anon Metro
Reviewed on April 07, 2009
"I am still dreaming about a killer combo of venison sausage roll and flawless venison Scotch egg." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed by February 07, 2009
"With a couple of minor quibbles (a 35-minute wait for two uncomplicated starters was a bit daft), this restaurant - presided over by a seriously talented young chef, Stephen Williams, brought in from the Ledbury but with top gastropub experience at the Anchor & Hope and the Sutton Arms - is a triumph, with a strong zeitgeisty feel." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on January 04, 2009
"To sum up, I think they say it better than I could: "Beautiful country produce in a warm, comfortable city pub."" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Jenni Muir Time Out
Reviewed on December 04, 2008
"Minus a raffia bow or two, this is a terrific place." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Dos Hermanos Dos Hermanos
Reviewed on October 04, 2008
"The combination of superlative ingredients and the skill of ex-Ledbury chef, Stephen Williams in the kitchen meant a cracking meal was up there with the best of the year." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
From the outside The Harwood Arms looks like some old, has-been boozer. The paint crumbling away shows the outside has seen better days. Don't be put off as inside however is bright and airy and has a lovely buzz of noise that isn't too over bearing.

I'll get straight to the point. Is the venison scotch egg here better than the award winning Heston Hinds Head scotch egg in Bray? In a word no. But in more words, it comes a very close second. The venison is full of rich gamey flavour and isn't dry in any way. The crisp breadcrumb coating is sprinkled with salt flakes which goes perfectly with the gooey egg yolk. My gentleman companion and I had one each in replacement of a starter which is a lovely way to kick things off.

The staff are young, trendy and enthusiastic. Our Irish waiter was very knowledgable and let my gentleman companion try a beer before ordering. This is how service should be done.

I ordered grilled Berkshire roe deer steak with jerusalem artichoke and spiced red cabbage (£18) and it was so tasty it hurt. The meat was beautifully pink and tender and the little breaded and deep fried parcel of leg meat tasted even better.

The Wood pigeon breast and pie with baked beet root and chicory (£18) looked pretty as a picture. The pie pastry was full of buttery deliciousness. You can tell the food is cooked by chefs passionate about meat. It's really tasty food - I could eat here every Sunday. A side of garlic potatoes were a deep fried slightly crushed new potato with bags of sweet garlicky flavour.

Desserts were even more exciting. Fresh mint ice cream with bourbon biscuits and candied popcorn (£7.50) was stunning to look at. The textures of the smooth ice cream with the crunch of the popcorn and the crumble from the biscuit worked a treat in mouth. Two quenelles of ice cream seemed a little excessive though as one would have done. Saying that I finished the lot.

Baked stem ginger custard with honeycomb ice cream and custard cream biscuits looked magnificent and tasted the same. The custard cream biscuit being a crumbly round biscuit filled with butter cream. Both desserts definitely made you feel the need to open the top button of your trousers to let your newly bulbous gut over hang comfortably.

If you're bored of a typical Sunday roast (which never fills me up) then this is the place to come. Food that looks and tastes great is what you'll find here and you'll be served it in very comfortable surroundings. Just wear stretchy trousers.
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Reviewed by samphire and salsify April 22, 2012

samphire and salsify

From the outside The Harwood Arms looks like some old, has-been boozer. The paint crumbling away shows the outside has seen better days. Don't be put off as inside however is bright and airy and has a lovely buzz of noise that isn't too over bearing.

I'll get straight to the point. Is the venison scotch egg here better than the award winning Heston Hinds Head scotch egg in Bray? In a word no. But in more words, it comes a very close second. The venison is full of rich gamey flavour and isn't dry in any way. The crisp breadcrumb coating is sprinkled with salt flakes which goes perfectly with the gooey egg yolk. My gentleman companion and I had one each in replacement of a starter which is a lovely way to kick things off.

The staff are young, trendy and enthusiastic. Our Irish waiter was very knowledgable and let my gentleman companion try a beer before ordering. This is how service should be done.

I ordered grilled Berkshire roe deer steak with jerusalem artichoke and spiced red cabbage (£18) and it was so tasty it hurt. The meat was beautifully pink and tender and the little breaded and deep fried parcel of leg meat tasted even better.

The Wood pigeon breast and pie with baked beet root and chicory (£18) looked pretty as a picture. The pie pastry was full of buttery deliciousness. You can tell the food is cooked by chefs passionate about meat. It's really tasty food - I could eat here every Sunday. A side of garlic potatoes were a deep fried slightly crushed new potato with bags of sweet garlicky flavour.

Desserts were even more exciting. Fresh mint ice cream with bourbon biscuits and candied popcorn (£7.50) was stunning to look at. The textures of the smooth ice cream with the crunch of the popcorn and the crumble from the biscuit worked a treat in mouth. Two quenelles of ice cream seemed a little excessive though as one would have done. Saying that I finished the lot.

Baked stem ginger custard with honeycomb ice cream and custard cream biscuits looked magnificent and tasted the same. The custard cream biscuit being a crumbly round biscuit filled with butter cream. Both desserts definitely made you feel the need to open the top button of your trousers to let your newly bulbous gut over hang comfortably.

If you're bored of a typical Sunday roast (which never fills me up) then this is the place to come. Food that looks and tastes great is what you'll find here and you'll be served it in very comfortable surroundings. Just wear stretchy trousers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
AddressWalham Grove, Fulham, London, SW6 1QR
Telephone number 0207 386 1847
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 2 AA Rosettes
trainFulham Broadway
Opening timesRestaurant: Monday to Thursday 12:00 to 3:00pm /6:30 to 9:30pm; Friday/Saturday 12:00 to 3:00pm /6:30 to 10:00pm; Sunday 12:00 to 5:00pm /6:00 to 9:00pm
Bar area
• Special quiz night menu available

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners