Review

Dock Kitchen Hot


Portobello Docks, 342-344 Ladbroke Grove,
(entrance on Kensal Rd), Ladbroke Grove, W10 5AH

Latest critic review: August 11, 2012
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 7.0 out of 10
Write Review


Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on August 11, 2012
"A decidedly odd meal, half of which I seemed to spend arguing with the food, criticising its appearance, its peculiar saucing and seasoning, its hanging out in the wrong company." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on February 19, 2011
"I'm not going to say that the Dock Kitchen is a duff restaurant or that Parle can't cook: it isn't and he can. But there seems to be a consistency problem, because on the day I went for lunch, it just wasn't at the level it has hit for other people." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 5
Kang Leung London Eater
Reviewed on November 30, 2010
"I’m glad Dock Kitchen is totally anchored now, and am hoping it will stay that way for a while, because I think Steve Parle is a genius. The man is still so young... but his cooking is already oh so brilliant, there is still so much time ahead of him to evolve as a chef." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday TImes
Reviewed on November 07, 2010
"The atmosphere provoked by wonderful cooking was light and comfortable and we left in a Pickwickian mood, replete and garrulous, at one with a happy world. Only a really good dinner can do that for you." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed by July 11, 2010
"Once front of house is up to speed, Dock Kitchen will be unmissable." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on November 29, 2009
"The bottom line being that if I'm going to a pop-up restaurant I want it to be about the food, not the politics. Which is why I very much like the Dock Kitchen." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Charmaine Mok Time Out
Reviewed on October 29, 2009
"This is inspiring stuff – and judging by the surroundings and creative manifesto of The Dock project, it would have been a serious oversight to recruit anyone of a lesser calibre." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 15, 2009
"The subtle assembly possessed all the virtues of Indian home cooking and I longed immediately to order it again but knew that brill with fresh coconut, curry leaves, south Indian spices, tomatoes and squash was on its way." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Dock Kitchen’s home in a converted Victorian Wharf building is a charming retreat in the heart of town. The sunshine that bathed the restaurant’s open kitchen helps a lot, but I think Dock Kitchen has enough personality to even make it special on a dreary day.

After some table tango we found ourselves on the terrace between a dog, someone I can bet is on TV, and a quiet baby. (Also fortunately far away from the ditsy waitress who clearly didn’t know how anything on the menu was prepared). None of that mattered though, once the food arrived.

Prosecco Frizzante (£6.50) and and courgette and aubergine fritters drizzled with honey and chilli (£7) for TM; and a gorgeous Lammershoek (£7.50) and chicken livers cooked in pomegranate molasses with a lavash bread (£7.50) for me. I love the Persian zeal in this week’s menu, but you cannot put Stevie Parle’s food in a box; with a CV that lists River Café, Petersham Nurseries, and Moro that’s no surprise. But its more than that… I can’t quite put my finger on it just yet, but its more than that.

And then TM chose the lamb biryani (for two at £17.50 each). It looked beautiful. When we broke the dough seal, the saffron floated out of the earthen pot – beautiful. And once we were ready to dig into the prettiness, it tasted… beautiful.

There is so much to come back for. To feed the ducks in the canal, try the cocktails in the Kitchenette Bar, stare longingly at the beautiful things in Tom Dixon’s shop on the lower floor; and collect the piece of me I left behind that day.
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Table for One October 01, 2013

Dock Kitchen’s home in a converted Victorian Wharf building is a charming retreat in the heart of town. The sunshine that bathed the restaurant’s open kitchen helps a lot, but I think Dock Kitchen has enough personality to even make it special on a dreary day.

After some table tango we found ourselves on the terrace between a dog, someone I can bet is on TV, and a quiet baby. (Also fortunately far away from the ditsy waitress who clearly didn’t know how anything on the menu was prepared). None of that mattered though, once the food arrived.

Prosecco Frizzante (£6.50) and and courgette and aubergine fritters drizzled with honey and chilli (£7) for TM; and a gorgeous Lammershoek (£7.50) and chicken livers cooked in pomegranate molasses with a lavash bread (£7.50) for me. I love the Persian zeal in this week’s menu, but you cannot put Stevie Parle’s food in a box; with a CV that lists River Café, Petersham Nurseries, and Moro that’s no surprise. But its more than that… I can’t quite put my finger on it just yet, but its more than that.

And then TM chose the lamb biryani (for two at £17.50 each). It looked beautiful. When we broke the dough seal, the saffron floated out of the earthen pot – beautiful. And once we were ready to dig into the prettiness, it tasted… beautiful.

There is so much to come back for. To feed the ducks in the canal, try the cocktails in the Kitchenette Bar, stare longingly at the beautiful things in Tom Dixon’s shop on the lower floor; and collect the piece of me I left behind that day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The fact that there are no 'user' reviews here is perhaps telling.

West Londoners can be a bit self obsessed!!

Went for lunch on our anniversary with my wife. Mostly nice food - bit pricey. My wife's main was a bit tough and rubbish - I mentioned this to the manager - he didn't charge, gave us some dessert and we left happy.

The space is great, staff are great, food is a bit experimental in a Souhk meets Taberna meets Notting Hill sort of way.

Nice view over the dock - can't seem to find out what the dock was originally built for - maybe a bit geeky!!
Overall rating 
 
6.0
adam van den bussche Reviewed by adam van den bussche November 18, 2011

No Customer reviews??

The fact that there are no 'user' reviews here is perhaps telling.

West Londoners can be a bit self obsessed!!

Went for lunch on our anniversary with my wife. Mostly nice food - bit pricey. My wife's main was a bit tough and rubbish - I mentioned this to the manager - he didn't charge, gave us some dessert and we left happy.

The space is great, staff are great, food is a bit experimental in a Souhk meets Taberna meets Notting Hill sort of way.

Nice view over the dock - can't seem to find out what the dock was originally built for - maybe a bit geeky!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
AddressPortobello Docks, 342-344 Ladbroke Grove,
(entrance on Kensal Rd), Ladbroke Grove, W10 5AH
Telephone number 020 8962 1610
trainKensal Green

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners