Review

HKK Hot


88 Worship Street, London EC2A 2BE
Latest critic review: March 17, 2014
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 9.0 out of 10
Write Review

Following the opening of Chrysan next door, this is another City Hakkasan restaurant. This time, they'll be serving a single tasting menu of Chinese and Cantonese dishes. The menu has been created by Hakkasan executive chef Tong Chee Hwee.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on March 17, 2014
"HKK has grown into a great restaurant at lunchtime. I can’t immediately think of a lunch in the City that offers such quality ingredients and cooking for so little. You won’t be distracted by the decor, which is heroically understated." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on February 23, 2013
"When it's right, Chef Tong's flavour-balance is oh-so-good. Go if you want to try on "moneyed", to see how it feels." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed on February 28, 2013
"Although the kitchen might have a way to catch up, there’s enough stupefyingly good food on offer to make HKK A-OK by me." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed by February 02, 2013
"This place is amazing. Fourteen of the best courses I’ve had anywhere." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Anon Time Out
Reviewed on February 10, 2013
"HKK is testament to the potential of Cantonese cooking, the finest of China’s regional cuisines (when executed properly). Just don’t go with an empty stomach or wallet. The portions are tiny; the bill is not." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on January 29, 2013
"Some of (the chef's) dishes here are very good indeed. That’s not to say that all are sure-fire hits, but the dim sum (a selection of three) are probably as good as you will ever sample." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 15, 2013
"The beef was great – slow cooked, Euro-style, but still springy, Asian-wise, rather than the flaky, disintegrating texture I was primed to expect. It had been cooked in sugar, but was in no way too sweet. It was so exquisite I semi-resolved to cook beef in sugar ever after. I don't know how this is going to go down at home." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
We had a fantastic evening at HKK, although we were left hungry after the 8 course meal, so definitely go for the 15 course option.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Gary Robinson Reviewed by Gary Robinson February 03, 2013

Chinese fine dining at Hakkasan’s new HHK restaura

We had a fantastic evening at HKK, although we were left hungry after the 8 course meal, so definitely go for the 15 course option.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address88 Worship Street, London EC2A 2BE
Telephone number 020 3535 1888
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
trainLiverpool Street
Bar area

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners