The City

Galvin La Chapelle

Galvin La Chapelle

This is the third venture for brothers Chris and Jeff Galvin, whose Baker Street venue Galvin Bistro has forged a name for perfect brasserie food. Set in the frankly stunning St Botolph's Hall, La Chapelle is a fine dining restaurant with 100 covers.

Critic reviews - total score 8 out of 10

Critics' score: 5 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on March 28, 2010
"It sets out to impress, flatter and indulge, which are not motives known to inspire the most hospitable, happy food. But it struggles to make the best of it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on February 06, 2010
"This is the biggest project yet by far for the Galvin brothers (La Chapelle, not my wedding) and it gives London one of its grandest restaurants." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on January 24, 2010
"We waddle back into the night – Mr M cradling the stoppered remains of his beloved Rasteau – delighted to have sated both our needs so completely." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on January 03, 2010
"...clearly I admire Galvin La Chapelle very, very much... But I can't quite find it in myself to love it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8.5 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 23, 2009
"I’m mindful that restaurants are never as well priced six months in as they were at the start, but it would be churlish not to mention that, at the moment, this is Michelin food at mid-range prices." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8.5 Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on December 12, 2009
"La Chapelle, like the Bistrot de Luxe, is a restaurant I know I will happily return to. It's a place to celebrate a special occasion, and a place that would make any occasion special. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on December 09, 2009
"Maybe not since The Wolseley has a space elicited a jaw-dropped ‘Oh. My,’ from my cynical chops." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Zoe Strimpel City AM
Reviewed on December 08, 2009
"London’s famous foodie brothers bring their up-scale French dining to the City, with great results." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on December 04, 2009
"There is nothing terribly original here, but you can be sure the Galvins' impeccably crafted French fare will leave you smiling wide and long." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Lisa Ellwood View London
Reviewed on November 26, 2009
"Traditional French ingredients are served with creativity and the high end service is as suited to intimate dates as it is to business dinners." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed by November 26, 2009
"The puddings had the most ‘wow’ factor, for the precision of their execution: a tiny chocolate fondant with the concentrated flavours of high cocoa bean content, and a pretty crème caramel decorated with sweetened raisins." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 26, 2009
"I don’t know quite what I expected but it was not just a rerun of the Baker Street menu plus a few twists. Sticking to what you’re good at is all very well but the dramatic surroundings demand a burst of original, maybe even stupendous, effort." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Hermano Primero Dos Hermanos Estimated score
Reviewed on November 22, 2009
"I’d like to think the Pigeon Tagine was more representative of the kitchen’s abilities but the flaws in the other dishes were so manifest as to make me wonder whether another visit would yield better." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 "Richard & Peter" Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on November 19, 2009
"It quickly become clear that, despite the dramatic and interesting setting and the still ‘edgy’ location, this is as traditional a French restaurant as you’ll find in London" READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 35 Spital Square, London, E1 6DY

Telephone number: 020 7299 0400

Cuisine: French

Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 3 AA Rosettes

Nearest station: Liverpool Street

Nearest Station: Liverpool Street

Opening times: Lunch: Mon – Sun - 12noon – 2:30pm; Dinner: Mon – Wed - 6pm – 10:00pm, Thu – Sat - 6pm – 10:30pm, Dinner: Sun – 6pm – 9:30pm (last orders)

Bar area

 

Contact info

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares