Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

Duck & Waffle

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/f0/8b/44/1945_duckandwaffle-134537426335.jpg
Heron Tower, 110 Bishopsgate, London EC2N 4A
Latest critic review: September 24, 2013


Duck & Waffle

From the company behind Sushi Samba, Duck & Waffle is an all-day restaurant in the true sense of the word, open 24 hours, 7 days a week. It's taken over the 40th floor of the Heron Tower with amazing wraparound views over London - showcased by floor-to-ceiling windows. There is an open kitchen, a 24 seat chef bar with artisanal cocktails and a private dining room.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Oliver Denton Metro Estimated score
Reviewed on September 24, 2013
"Duck & Waffle is not a place to wolf down some bacon butties before the football starts at lunchtime, it’s a place to reflect and enjoy the food, setting and company. Well, they can’t help you with the company, but the other two are pretty damn solid." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on November 06, 2012
"I have eaten at Duck & Waffle several times over the past couple of months and I wouldn’t have been back if I didn’t like the food and the view. The shocker is the wine list. It’s among the least appealing I have encountered in a good restaurant: expensive, with a few unpleasant options if you drop below 40 pounds." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on September 08, 2012
"They did not forget, alas, to bring us our “duck & waffle” – a dish one feels compelled to order on a first visit until one realises that they have named the whole place after the duffest thing they serve." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on September 02, 2012
"The food at Duck & Waffle is not faultless, but the experience is; and there are plenty of enticing dishes I didn't try (a whole roasted chicken beckons)." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed by September 02, 2012
"They also sell strips of crispy pig ear seasoned with sugar, salt and a few spices. It makes them taste like Frazzles, which is obviously genius. They come in brown paper bags. We ordered a second bag and only didn't order a third out of shame." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on August 17, 2012
"The 'small plates' menu requires you to order several dishes each, so those menu prices aren't the bargain they might at first seem. But the desserts restored our faith in the kitchen, with a good peach melba and eton mess - simple, but always effective dishes." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Padraig Coffey View London
Reviewed on August 13, 2012
" The view is a reason in itself to visit Duck and Waffle, but the outstanding gastronomic experience will ensure you return." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on August 10, 2012
"Duck & Waffle expertly walks a line between spectacularly glamorous and accessibly homely, and I defy anyone to spend an evening here and not have the time of your life. I intend to be a regular." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: Heron Tower, 110 Bishopsgate, London EC2N 4A

Telephone number: 0203 640 7310

Nearest station: Liverpool Street

Opening times: Open 24 hrs

  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

 

Contact info

View restaurant website

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares