Hot Dinners

Review

Barbecoa Hot


20 New Change Passage, London EC4M 9AG
Latest critic review: August 07, 2011
Critics' score: 5.5 out of 10 Users' score: 7.0 out of 10
Write Review

Heston reckons Adam Perry Lang has the best steaks in the world while Oliver rates him as a 'great, great chef'. This London restaurant in a landmark development beside St Paul's features all manner of ways of barbecuing meat from wood burning ovens, robata grills, tandoors and open pits to slow-burning smokehouses.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on August 07, 2011
"...bits of it are excellent, bits just good enough, but bits are so bad that it would be impossible not to mention them." READ REVIEW

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on May 08, 2011
"If this restaurant opened in New York, its shortcomings would see it laughed out of town. I wish the presiding chef's home city really had been a huge influence." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on April 04, 2011
"'It’s irritating to have to say this,' said my friend, as we worked our way through a decent and inoffensively priced riesling, 'but this food is much too good for the venue.'" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on January 29, 2011
"...Barbecoa is nowhere near the finished article. It feels like an experiment, and you, the customer, feel like the person who is being experimented on." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 5
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 04, 2011
"If meat is your thing -- and if you’re in the City, there’s a fair chance it is -- it’s worth setting aside the negativity that surrounded Barbecoa when it opened and recognizing it is a serious project of respected chefs." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
John Wallsh Independent
Reviewed on December 18, 2010
"The war-zone aspect of Barbecoa is hard to love, but when it gets it right (as with the steak) you can forgive the slapdash approach to anything which isn't carnivore-related." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5.5
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on December 15, 2010
"I like most of the food a lot: crunchy, sticky ‘scratchings’ with an apple and mustard sauce; excellent pulled pork, a delicious, sweet-sour tangle of squidge and char with rich jalapeño cornbread and fresh, tart slaw." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on November 30, 2010
"I'd hesitate to dismiss the whole operation, as the front of house staff were really doing a great job and can't be held responsible for sourcing decisions made further up the chain, but I left Barbecoa with the impression that this was cheap food, cooked easily, marked up for a credulous city crowd, and served with the ever-present crutch of Oliver's popular branding." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 3
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on November 24, 2010
"When it finally arrived, the food was pretty good. A hearty cuisine-grand-mère–ish dish of pulled beef, for example, was thoroughly satisfying, and a huge bone-in steak was very decent too." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed by November 18, 2010
"The welcome managed to be both confused and glacial. Service flailed. Food, when it arrived, was tepid. Quantities veered between miserly for the high-end pricing and too much." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on November 11, 2010
"Booking system apart, Barbecoa does many things right. It's a big, smart, City barbecue joint that proudly serves top-quality British meats from the attached butchery downstairs." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Herman Primero Dos Hermanos
Reviewed on November 10, 2010
"Anyone expecting anything to evoke BBQ from the US is going to be seriously disappointed." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on November 08, 2010
"The stunning views of one of the capital’s finest landmarks will probably get the majority of the plaudits but the quality of the food is every bit as impressive." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Great ribs fries etc - good food - I got exactly what I expected and very much enjoyed my meal
Overall rating 
 
7.0
Reviewed by Juerg Mueller November 12, 2013

Deliver exactly what it should

Great ribs fries etc - good food - I got exactly what I expected and very much enjoyed my meal

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address20 New Change Passage, London EC4M 9AG
Telephone number 020 3005 8555
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainSt Paul's
  • Shop onsite
  • Takeaway available

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login