Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

Hutong at the Shard

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/9c/04/1d/2616_hutong-1373131257.jpg
Level 33 The Shard, 31 St. Thomas Street, London SE1 9RY
Latest critic review: October 15, 2013


Hutong at the Shard

Aqua's first venture at the Shard definitely is the first European branch of Hutong - Yeo's Hong-Kong based restaurant which is known for serving up fiery Northern Chinese food.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 6.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on October 15, 2013
"Though it had its moments, this is by no means the best Chinese cooking in London. But you are not being charged prices far more eye-watering than the hottest thing on the menu for the food or the service (which was friendly and informative when present, though prone to going AWOL)." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 12, 2013
"And after six mouthfuls, or three minutes, I can give you my judgment on Hutong: patchy upscale Sichuan, couple of great dishes but too many mediocre ones, nice service, ridiculous pricing." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7
Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on August 18, 2013
"Put this food at ground level and, at these prices, a baying mob would quickly gather. But up here with the crystal gash of London spread out beneath you, instant memories are made; a Tuscan sun dunks itself in the river and for a moment, even as your wallet lightens, all is right with the world." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed on July 25, 2013
"We wait, we pay, we leave. The next day, my friend sends me a puzzled message. ‘What,’ she asks, ‘is Hutong doing, other than filling a space in the sky?’ I’m not sure whether saving thirty quid counts." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed by July 09, 2013
"Duck in two services was impressive – the first service very definitely not the dried-out shreds so typically found, but elegantly pink slices – and even better than we remember from the (merely) 10th floor operation at the excellent Min Jiang, in Kensington." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5.5 Steve Dinneen City AM
Reviewed on July 10, 2013
"Sure, Hutong is a bit gauche, and a bit pricey, but you get a nice view and the crab is delicious. It’s a good place for a date, so long as the other person turns up." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on July 05, 2013
"...I can’t think of a better place to drink a glass of champagne, eat some Ma La chilli prawns and take stock of why one is actually quite fortunate to be one." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on June 27, 2013
"Hutong does credit to the growing trend for offbeat Chinese dishes. The service was good, the prices high, but then this is the Shard, not Chinatown. It’s a good date restaurant. This London branch of Hutong shouldn’t be left to the tourists and the expats." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: Level 33 The Shard, 31 St. Thomas Street, London SE1 9RY

Telephone number: 020 7478 0540

Cuisine: Chinese

Nearest station: London Bridge

Nearest Station: London Bridge

  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Find them on Facebook

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares