Soho, Fitztrovia, Covent Garden

Tredwell's

Tredwell's

Tredwell's is from Marcus Wareing, but he'll taking the role of restaurateur here, while concentrating on the kitchen at MARCUS. Here, Chantelle Nicholson is taking charge of what will be a "casual but informed restaurant - food you like when you like."

Critic reviews - total score 5.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 4 Zoe Wiliams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 16, 2015
"I just cannot work out how Tredwell’s managed to create what I can only describe as an anti-atmosphere. In a basement full of mirrors and black surfaces, it felt like eating in the corner of an overpriced Courchevel nightclub." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Steve Dineen City AM Estimated score
Reviewed on October 29, 2014
"It’s difficult to judge Tredwell’s on its own merits – as a much-better-than-average city diner – rather than as a part of the Wareing empire." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 21, 2014
"Toast slivers were served with a chorizo spread, simple and very tasty. A disc of olive oil cake was topped with blackberry jam and a pipe of pâtissier’s custard – a novel combination, but it worked." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on November 29, 2014
"And I’d go back to Tredwell’s, if I were passing, for the excellent chilli chicken wings or pork belly sliders with which I started." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed by November 09, 2014
"If you go to Tredwell's, you will have passable food at an affordable price in pleasant surroundings. But it won't feel special, as I believe any restaurant should. It will feel that you're on a cultural and corporate treadmill – and you may want to get off." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on December 24, 2014
"Forcing yourself to go 'down home and dirty', chasing the comfort food dollar in Covent Garden next to Hawksmoor and MeatLiquor is like an eldery uncle wearing his baseball cap on backwards and listening to Taylor Swift. It feels forced, and contrived, and uncomfortable. And I'm afraid I didn't enjoy it very much at all." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on October 22, 2014
"The chicken croquettes, we later found out, are in actual fact a bowl of perilously moreish deep-fried triangle-cut pulled-chicken sandwiches. By this point me and my guest were playing a game of ‘How many of these could you eat if it was 3am at a boozy house party and most of the guests had left but there was a tray of these on the kitchen table?’ He estimated at least 15." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 2 David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 01, 2014
"Sometimes restaurants are bad because they’re just not competent. That’s not the case here, Wareing being a seasoned survivor of the Gordon Ramsay experience, just like Jason Atherton. Tredwell’s isn’t incompetent, it’s cynical." READ REVIEW

 
Test

Restaurant details

Address: 4 Upper St Martin’s Lane, London WC2H 9NY

Telephone number: 0203 764 0840

  • Nearest Station: Covent Garden

  • Nearest Station: Leicester Square

Opening times: Monday to Wednesday: 12:00pm – 3:00pm 5:00pm – 11:00pm
Thursday to Saturday: 12:00pm – 11:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 9:00pm

  • Bar area
  • Outside seating (weather permitting)

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Find them on Facebook

Counter dining

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares