Soho, Fitztrovia, Covent Garden

The Riding House Cafe

The Riding House Cafe

The people behind the Riding House Cafe have previously opened Village East and the Garrison in Bermondsey. They've come into central London for the first time with an all-day brasserie with an American feel, featuring small plates to share as well as more traditional mains.

Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on February 12, 2012
"Well, when you get up from dinner raving about the staff, you know the food’s been under-whelming." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 04, 2011
"It's all so well planned I want to give it a diploma; but I still have a nagging criticism, which is that it's trying to be everything to everyone, not only with its meal-time flexibility but with the actual cooking, and this prevents those moments of boldness, of culinary risk or simple street-food explosiveness that make you fall in love with a restaurant." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on August 20, 2011
"But that was as nothing compared to the main kitchen itself, where the flouting of basic standards was so surprising that I became quite horrified and have perhaps ended up being less kind to the cooking than I might otherwise have been." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on July 05, 2011
"The simplest dish we tried was one of the best, goat’s curd adorned with fresh fig and honey lending a hint of the foothills of Olympus, while a ceviche of sea bass zinged with enough lime to keep a Tudor galleon scurvy-free for a year." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 John Lanchester Guardian Estimated score
Reviewed on June 18, 2011
"It would be great, as the small plate fashion rolls inexorably on, if everywhere that joins the bandwagon does so as professionally as the Riding House Cafe." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on June 15, 2011
I love the place. I’m marinating in decent Albariño and gung-ho, let’s-give-it-five-stars-and-just-move-right-in goodwill... But the arrival of the food makes us crash like a pair of over-Smartied toddlers."
READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Lucie Green City AM
Reviewed on May 31, 2011
"The food is simple but still interesting. It has also managed to be cool without feeling pretentious. Central London needs more of these." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on May 15, 2011
"The atmosphere at RHC is its greatest asset. I felt looked after, well-informed and relaxed. Nobody needed to explain the menu "concept" to me and I didn't feel rushed, despite the non-stop walk-ins." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed by May 08, 2011
"The result is a palpable success, already pretty much mobbed, with a pretty young crowd from the nearby fashion and media." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on May 05, 2011
"We were so impressed we returned for lunch the next day. The burger is another winner, served is a seed-studded bun, oozing juices and with fine, thin French-fry-style chips." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on May 04, 2011
"A great little place that should do well, the Riding House Café’s food, prices and flexibility make it somewhere that feels effortlessly good." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Nick Curtis Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 28, 2011
"Enticing food at properly low prices and service that is positively chummy make Riding House Café even more welcome." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 43-51 Great Titchfield St, London W1W 7PQ

Telephone number: 020 7927 0840

Cuisine: American

Nearest station: Oxford Circus

  • Nearest Station: Goodge Street

  • Nearest Station: Oxford Circus

Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares