Portland

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/0c/90/4d/portland-31-1421492331.jpg
113 Great Portland Street, London W1W 6QQ
Latest critic review: March 15, 2015


Portland

This restaurant is from Will Lander (Quality Chop House) and Daniel Morgenthau (formerly 10 Greek Street) who have teamed up for an all-day restaurant on Great Portland Street.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 8.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 10 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on March 15, 2015
"The menu and its production are also Nordic in their sensibility of clear ideas and unfussy preparation. There is a distinctly oriental accent and as much umami as you could hope for. And it’s all socially priced. This is all of the best of modern eating, with the nonsense, pretension and snobbery left out." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8.5
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on February 22, 2015
"The pithivier might be the show-stopper but almost everything, from mouth-puckering snacks of pickled shiitake mushrooms to thick-sliced scallops in an earthy Jerusalem artichoke velouté, should make you smile." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Giles Coren Times Estimated score
Reviewed on February 21, 2015
"I’ve been twice now, both times alone, both times eating more than I should have, and everything I have eaten has been perfect." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Zoe Williams Telegraph Estimated score
Reviewed by February 20, 2015
"We shared a duck for two (£19 per person). The meat had been cooked in the French style – pink but wonderfully tender, so light but so deep at the same time. I don’t know how they manage it. I believe you have to be French before you can ask." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on February 06, 2015
"Portland is so much my kind of place: an independent serving great food, with smart, savvy service (both owners are working the floor on our visit); it takes reservations and doesn't charge like a rhino." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Richard Ehlrich Time Out
Reviewed on January 23, 2015
"We put together our meal from small dishes, and found ourselves repeatedly falling into stunned silence." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 14, 2015
" Then, contrary to all that has gone before, we share a game pithivier that is a classic dish impeccably prepared from its shining striated dome and scalloped edge to a wild duck filling that is pink at heart and snug within luscious mushroom duxelles surrounded by potent game and black truffle juices. The noise does not abate as it should do at the serving of this masterpiece, but almost seems as if it does. Already in mid-January this is one of my best dishes of the year." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 113 Great Portland Street, London W1W 6QQ

Telephone number: 0207 436 3261

Michelin star 1 Michelin star

Nearest Station: Great Portland Street

Opening times: Lunch: Monday to Saturday 12.00pm – 2.30pm
Dinner: Monday to Saturday 6.00pm – 11.00pm

Private Hire available

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares