hd logo mobile4
Hot Dinners

Lima

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/15/83/d6/1889_lima-134286628235.jpg
31 Rathbone Place, Fitzrovia, London W1T 1JH
Latest critic review: November 03, 2013
Critics' score: 7 out of 10



This Peruvian restaurant is from Virgilio Martinez, former Executive Chef at Astrid y Gaston, listed on the San Pellegrino World’s Best Restaurants list. It aims to "integrate Peruvian traditional cuisine with a modern and contemporary twist."

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on November 03, 2013
"The problem, and I freely admit that this is my problem, is that I don’t understand the menu. Since I’m not a gay old Peruvian hand, the ingredients remain opaquely mysterious." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 3
Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on April 29, 2013
"As for Roberto Ortiz’s cooking, as overseen by the celebrated Peruvian chef Virgilio Martinez, this is a ridiculously perfect amalgam of taste and aesthetics, every dish marrying dramatic colour combinations to clear, precise and equally vibrant flavours." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on November 03, 2012
" Short, very original menu, mostly excellent cooking, grown-up staff, imaginative wine list, tables, chairs, reservation line… in short, a nice new restaurant. I had no idea they were still making them." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on September 08, 2012
"...it had been well worth travelling all the way to north Oxford Street to encounter modern Peruvian cuisine and be startled by its flavours, its zingy colours, its unexpectedness, and the charm of the waiters." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on September 04, 2012
"...if you're looking for true innovation, I'm not sure this is your place. If, on the other hand, you want to eat mainly lovely food, and look as if you're innovating at the same time, it's perfect." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Albany Bell City AM
Reviewed by August 28, 2012
"Lima finds the perfect combination between modern cuisine and traditional Peruvian ingredients and the imagination and creativity that Martinez brings is sure to keep people coming back." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on July 16, 2012
"Despite the nagging environmenal questions though, and the cost, there's still a lot to love about Lima. The food, as I say, is extraordinary not just because London has seen little like it before, but because it is thoughtfully constructed, expertly cooked and tastes incredible." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 18, 2012
"One of the arresting qualities of dishes at Lima is their beauty — due to a vivid use of natural colours. When I saw ceviche of artichoke, white onion, Amazon tree tomato (aka cocona) and pink peppercorns, which I think is the translation of molle, I thought I would like a dress in exactly those colours and in the way they were arranged." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on July 18, 2012
"...we were agreed that the execution was very good, and the dishes original, with many making their debut in the capital." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

More information

Address31 Rathbone Place, Fitzrovia, London W1T 1JH
Telephone number 0203 002 2640
Cuisine
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
trainTottenham Court Road
Opening timesMonday – Saturday: Lunch 12pm – 2.30pm; Dinner 5.30pm – 10.30pm
Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners recommends

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook