Hoppers

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/31/b9/78/hoppers-61-1446407556.jpg
49 Frith Street, Soho, London W1D 4SG
Latest critic review: January 31, 2016
Critics' score: 8.5 out of 10



Coming from the Sethi siblings, best known for Gymkhana but also behind Bao, Lyle's and more, this is inspired by roadside shacks (boutiques) of Tamil Nadu and Sri Lanka. These shacks focus on hoppers and dosas which will be the same with Hoppers.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on January 31, 2016
"Hoppers is not London's, or the UK's, only Sri Lankan restaurant, of course. But with that pedigree and that quality of cooking, it might single-handedly push up the numbers booking flights to Colombo." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed on November 17, 2015
"And it is an absolute joy. As you might expect from a no-bookings joint in Soho, it’s small but stylish, effortlessly mixing old and new." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tom Parker Bowles Mail on Sunday
Reviewed on December 10, 2015
"It is, in short, one hell of a restaurant. And yet another glittering jewel in Soho’s glorious culinary crown." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed by November 13, 2015
"Hoppers is not exactly something new under the sun — Sri Lankan food is available elsewhere in this town — but nowhere else is it done so seductively." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Andrew Baggs City AM
Reviewed on November 04, 2015
"Please, come here with friends. Try everything. You might not meet a restaurant this good again. For the record, I kept the menu. I’m going to take it home, hang it beside my bed and kiss it before I go to sleep at night." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on November 03, 2015
"Yes, they may have you sweating (the spicing certainly isn't timid) but it's the balance and depth of flavor that resonates. It's fine dining, on a budget." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on October 29, 2015
"Nothing about my meal there could be faulted, and so all I can do is award it full marks, and urge you to go and try it yourself as soon as you possibly can." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
 





More information

Address49 Frith Street, Soho, London W1D 4SG
Telephone numberAverage price: Inexpensive
train
  • Leicester Square
  • Tottenham Court Road
Opening timesMon - Sat: 12 - 2.30PM, 5.30 - 10.30PM
• No reservations

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares