Hot Dinners

Review

Hix Hot


66-70, Brewer Street, London W1F 9TR
Latest critic review: April 15, 2010
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 9.0 out of 10
Write Review

Mark Hix opens his second solo venture in London in the heart of Soho. Besides the ground-floor restaurant there's also a basement bar. Heading up the kitchen is Kevin Gratton - former head chef at Caprice Holdings. Expect a starry clientele.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Nick Harman Foodepedia
Reviewed on April 15, 2010
"Hix Soho at lunch caters to the needs of men not into fancy food, those who want to simply eat and relax. " READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Zoe Williams Telegrsph
Reviewed on November 27, 2009
"People are excited because it’s exciting, in short. Hix delivers." READ REVIEW

Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on November 18, 2009
"But the food isn't good enough, ranging from ordinary to, well, grim." READ REVIEW

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on November 01, 2009
"The sourcing of all Hix’s ingredients is exemplary. The preparation is a little careless, a touch smilingly amateur. Personally, I can live with that." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tracey MacLeod Telegraph
Reviewed on October 24, 2009
"The result is a great new restaurant, which already feels like a copper-bottomed success." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 24, 2009
"(Hix) wants everybody to have great food and a spanking night out, regardless of whether he knows them or not. And most of the time he succeeds." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on October 23, 2009
"I'm stuffed. But I also love the Chop House's mutton, ale and oyster pie with golden light pastry. So just for you, I order the new steak version. You will be mighty relieved to learn it does not disappoint." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 22, 2009
"It felt like a private club, but for now at least, it’s public. If you’ve been wondering where Cool Britannia went, it’s moved to Soho" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Jeremy Hazlehurst City AM
Reviewed on October 20, 2009
"HIX is a fine restaurant, the food is fantastic, and the whole experience is bang on trend." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on October 18, 2009
"...the food is sublime and Hix has the unmistakable hum of right place, right time." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Michelle Court View London
Reviewed by October 08, 2009
"Mark Hix’s empire is steadily growing in the capital thanks to the popularity of his Farringdon restaurant, and Hix in Soho looks set to be another success." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 08, 2009
"The pie, with its oyster served separately riding in its shell, was diminutive but praised for its flavour. The hanger steak, usually such a ribald cut, was a bit dull." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on October 06, 2009
"Mark Hix’s very central new restaurant – on the former Soho site of Aaya (RIP), two minutes from Piccadilly Circus – offers his trademark English food, produced to a very high quality" READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
Dos Hermanos Dos Hermanos
Reviewed on October 06, 2009
"File under sure-fire hit." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Good restaurant & excellent food.

Well executed uncomplicated menu in a nice, simple modern-retro deco.

Love the bar downstairs. A mixture of a bachelor's playground with a gentleman's club. Exudes masculinity.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by H Guillén April 13, 2012

Impressed

Good restaurant & excellent food.

Well executed uncomplicated menu in a nice, simple modern-retro deco.

Love the bar downstairs. A mixture of a bachelor's playground with a gentleman's club. Exudes masculinity.

Was this review helpful to you? 
We could not have chosen a better venue for our post Grease the Musical supper. The venue is a few seconds walk away and on a chilly Saturday afternoon the Hix bloody Mary for me and the apple and pineapple cocktail for an excited 7 year old girl were just perfect.

5 of us had the early supper, the 2 men blushed like girls when the man himself came over for a chat as we sat down for dinner. The child was a bit scared of the menu and ended up having salami and chips which was just right. The adults amongst us opted for food we could not cook at home - I am now a big fan of cod's tongue (which is just like monkfish), and veal breast. The food was excellent; seasonal comforting and just the ticket for an autumnal day. Damson cheesecake really is as good as it sounds.

The downstairs bar is fantastic and I will certainly going back there just to break up the Christmas shopping.



Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Rebecca Littlewood November 09, 2009

Hix Soho

We could not have chosen a better venue for our post Grease the Musical supper. The venue is a few seconds walk away and on a chilly Saturday afternoon the Hix bloody Mary for me and the apple and pineapple cocktail for an excited 7 year old girl were just perfect.

5 of us had the early supper, the 2 men blushed like girls when the man himself came over for a chat as we sat down for dinner. The child was a bit scared of the menu and ended up having salami and chips which was just right. The adults amongst us opted for food we could not cook at home - I am now a big fan of cod's tongue (which is just like monkfish), and veal breast. The food was excellent; seasonal comforting and just the ticket for an autumnal day. Damson cheesecake really is as good as it sounds.

The downstairs bar is fantastic and I will certainly going back there just to break up the Christmas shopping.



Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address66-70, Brewer Street, London W1F 9TR
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
trainPicadilly Circus
  • Bar area
  • Wheelchair access
• Photographs by Jason Lowe

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login