Review

Flesh and Buns Hot


41 Earlham St, London WC2H 9LX
Latest critic review: January 12, 2014
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 5.0 out of 10
Write Review

The people behind hugely successful Ramen bar Bone Daddies have opened a new basement restaurant selling steamed hirata buns with DIY fillings including slow roasted shoulder of lamb with Korean flavours and robata grilled seabass with coriander miso.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on January 12, 2014
"Flesh & Buns is a rowdy, shameless, in-yer-face romp. If it were a movie, the trailer would have a deep-throated bombastic voiceover and you'd know what you were getting and decide accordingly whether it was for you." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on September 29, 2013
"It’s all horrible and depressing and noisily boring. But it took so long that by the time the dessert menu arrived we were the only people left in the place, and it felt like a crypt." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 2
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed by August 28, 2013
"Oh look, just tell me to shut up. Flesh & Buns is clearly yet another red-hot place for “fun food”. Is it their fault I’m just not a fun person?" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Joe Warwick Metro
Reviewed on August 29, 2013
"For the main event crispy duck leg (with sour plum soy and turnip pickle) loses out to braised pork belly. Soft, sweet and as moist as the finest pulled pork, it’s a faultless foil for the pillowy buns with its mustard miso and pickled apple." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on September 16, 2013
"Flesh & Buns is the second London opening from chef and proprietor Ross Shonhan, following on from the Bone Daddies ramen restaurant over on Peter Street in Soho. Just when you think the area can’t get any more delicious and deadly to your waistline, the ante gets drizzled with sauce and upped once again." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Celia Plender Time Out
Reviewed on August 05, 2013
"If loud guitar music and DIY dining are not your idea of a relaxing meal, then Flesh and Buns is not for you. If, however, you’re a dedicated follower of the latest food fashions, then Flesh & Buns should be next on your hit list." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Great urban place, love the long table in the middle. service is crap. I called the restuarant to make a resarvation for the same evening, they told me that is fine a 9 pm. I came at 9 pm, no reservation located and I was send away rudely. They told me to come back at 22:00 PM. When I came bcak at that time, they had no clue and told me to wait at the bar. after half an hour I could finally be seated, and then they pushed me to order as the kitchend wanted to close. not friendly, to bad they did not know I am a Concierge at a five star hotel, missed changes.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Judith October 30, 2013

Food fun - Service not so much

Great urban place, love the long table in the middle. service is crap. I called the restuarant to make a resarvation for the same evening, they told me that is fine a 9 pm. I came at 9 pm, no reservation located and I was send away rudely. They told me to come back at 22:00 PM. When I came bcak at that time, they had no clue and told me to wait at the bar. after half an hour I could finally be seated, and then they pushed me to order as the kitchend wanted to close. not friendly, to bad they did not know I am a Concierge at a five star hotel, missed changes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address41 Earlham St, London WC2H 9LX
Telephone number 020 7632 9500
trainCovent Garden
Bar area

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners