Soho, Fitztrovia, Covent Garden

Dishoom

Dishoom

Dishoom is billed as a "Bombay Cafe" and focuses on Indian street food served in a tapas style format.

Critic reviews - total score 6.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on January 20, 2013
"...it gave me a pang of nostalgic regret for the lost caffs of old England, themselves once the opening business for new-immigrant Greeks and Italians." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 06, 2010
"Crisp, golden, insanely attractive, (lamb samosas) were everything that fast food wishes it could be but almost never is. The seasoning was just right – hot but not fierce – and so didn't need the tamarind and date chutney, nor the yogurty one, nor the house chilli chutney. All so delicious, though, that I piled them on anyway." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on October 18, 2010
"The standard of the cooking (like the range of dishes on offer) didn’t strike us as in any way remarkable, but nor was it disappointing." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on September 29, 2010
"Perhaps it isn’t the finest Indian food in town but it’s not setting out to be. However, the little lamb chops, almost furry from their yoghurty spicing, charred from fiery heat and splendidly tender, are as good as you’ll get." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Nick Harman Foodepedia Estimated score
Reviewed on August 19, 2010
"There’s nothing else quite like Dishoom and if it turns into a world dominating chain it wouldn’t be a bad thing for those who want a good fast meal at a good fair price." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on August 15, 2010
"As we discover when we eventually get to our banquette, there are some good things here, with the emphasis on the word "some". " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Richard Vines Blooomberg
Reviewed by July 30, 2010
"The menu is less than the sum of its parts. But the parts are good, including kulfi frozen desserts on a stick and Gola Ice, which is shaved ice served in a tumbler with fruity syrup." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 29, 2010
"A couple of visits impressed with the freshness and immediacy of the cooking and the willingness of the staff..." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on July 20, 2010
"Sipping on my Thums Up cola, the taste transported me back 25 years. Except this is a far superior dining experience: there are no white-jacketed waiters flicking dirty rags, and I'm sure no Irani café ever had as much Design Intent going on as this one clearly has." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on July 16, 2010
"The food wasn't the best thing about my meal, but it's honest, interesting and fresh enough to stand out amongst most of the dross in the area, and is well worth the very reasonable prices they charge." READ REVIEW

 
Test

Restaurant details

Address: 12 Upper St Martins Lane, London WC2H 9FB

Telephone number: 020 7420 9320

Cuisine: Indian

Nearest station: Leicester Square/ Covent Garden

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares