Hot Dinners

Review

Dishoom Hot


12 Upper St Martins Lane, London WC2H 9FB
Latest critic review: January 20, 2013
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 9.0 out of 10
Write Review

Dishoom is billed as a "Bombay Cafe" and focuses on Indian street food served in a tapas style format.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on January 20, 2013
"...it gave me a pang of nostalgic regret for the lost caffs of old England, themselves once the opening business for new-immigrant Greeks and Italians." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 06, 2010
"Crisp, golden, insanely attractive, (lamb samosas) were everything that fast food wishes it could be but almost never is. The seasoning was just right – hot but not fierce – and so didn't need the tamarind and date chutney, nor the yogurty one, nor the house chilli chutney. All so delicious, though, that I piled them on anyway." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on October 18, 2010
"The standard of the cooking (like the range of dishes on offer) didn’t strike us as in any way remarkable, but nor was it disappointing." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on September 29, 2010
"Perhaps it isn’t the finest Indian food in town but it’s not setting out to be. However, the little lamb chops, almost furry from their yoghurty spicing, charred from fiery heat and splendidly tender, are as good as you’ll get." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Nick Harman Foodepedia
Reviewed on August 19, 2010
"There’s nothing else quite like Dishoom and if it turns into a world dominating chain it wouldn’t be a bad thing for those who want a good fast meal at a good fair price." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on August 15, 2010
"As we discover when we eventually get to our banquette, there are some good things here, with the emphasis on the word "some". " READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 4
Richard Vines Blooomberg
Reviewed by July 30, 2010
"The menu is less than the sum of its parts. But the parts are good, including kulfi frozen desserts on a stick and Gola Ice, which is shaved ice served in a tumbler with fruity syrup." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 29, 2010
"A couple of visits impressed with the freshness and immediacy of the cooking and the willingness of the staff..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on July 20, 2010
"Sipping on my Thums Up cola, the taste transported me back 25 years. Except this is a far superior dining experience: there are no white-jacketed waiters flicking dirty rags, and I'm sure no Irani café ever had as much Design Intent going on as this one clearly has." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on July 16, 2010
"The food wasn't the best thing about my meal, but it's honest, interesting and fresh enough to stand out amongst most of the dross in the area, and is well worth the very reasonable prices they charge." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Have now visited Dishoom a few times - and must say I found it to be consistently good. Jay Rayner's comments in the Observer seem completely misguided (apart from his unabashed love of the lambchops, which I whole-heartedly share!) Almost all of the food (and drink) was excellent. The ambience and the decor are wonderful - someone at Dishoom clearly has an amazing eye for detail. This place completely challenges (in a delicious way!) the curry house stereotype of Indian food - which has got to be a good thing.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Sim Thompson September 24, 2010

A really great place

Have now visited Dishoom a few times - and must say I found it to be consistently good. Jay Rayner's comments in the Observer seem completely misguided (apart from his unabashed love of the lambchops, which I whole-heartedly share!) Almost all of the food (and drink) was excellent. The ambience and the decor are wonderful - someone at Dishoom clearly has an amazing eye for detail. This place completely challenges (in a delicious way!) the curry house stereotype of Indian food - which has got to be a good thing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address12 Upper St Martins Lane, London WC2H 9FB
Telephone number 020 7420 9320
Telephone numberAverage price: Inexpensive
trainLeicester Square/ Covent Garden

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login