Hot Dinners

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/feedingl/public_html/plugins/content/valaddthis/valaddthis.php on line 1247

Review

Bob Bob Ricard Hot


1 Upper James Street, Soho, London W1F 9DF
Latest critic review: April 06, 2014
Critics' score: 7 out of 10 Users' score: 9.0 out of 10
Write Review

It came from nowhere to making the top of many critics' lists of the best openings of 2008, scant weeks after it first took bookings. Some love the old-fashioned glamour of the place, others are attracted by the traditional menu, most seem really pleased by the food itself.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on April 06, 2014
"This – steaks, caviar, lobster – is comfort food for millionaires. It has plenty of Russian dishes for today's most prevalent high-end diner but, unlike other showy places where civilians get the Siberia treatment, this is warm and welcoming. You'll need to save up, but Bob Bob Ricard is now a place I'd recommend." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
"akandpa" Foodepedia
Reviewed on July 01, 2010
"Bob Bob Ricard is a great place to eat, you could simply go there and experience the Zakuski and ice cold vodka, or other small plates, with vodka shots or other drinks, alternatively choose from their a la carte menu which has items to suit all pockets." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on March 23, 2010
"Bob Bob Ricard is a huge, manipulative, mind-altering experiment in decadence, and if you can relax and surrender yourself to their whims and fancies you are guaranteed a good time." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on February 04, 2009
Me, I'll keep going: what could be more invigorating right now than a trip to fantasyland? READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on December 03, 2008
'design by David Collins inspired by train travel in Edwardian times, a chef cognisant of English nursery food, a button to press to alert Nanny to bring the champagne and you have something that at the very least cheers you up.'
READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed by January 11, 2009
“The dishes are bizarrely random, like the reverie of starving prisoners of war… This restaurant is the last turkey standing.” READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 0
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on January 10, 2009
"There's something heartening about a restaurant that tries so hard to please, and does it in its own quirky way. In fact, I'd pronounce it a hit – if I could pronounce it at all." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on December 18, 2008
"I like the energy, ideas, accessibility and most of all, the sense of affordable fun – something we will all need in the year to come." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Charmaine Mok Time Out
Reviewed on December 17, 2008
"There are the makings of a very good brasserie here, perhaps destined to join the ranks of The Wolseley one day." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Went here with my Dad, his girlfriend and my boyfriend and we had a wonderful time. Everything was delicious, the service was great, the interior was interesting and felt like it had been there for absolutely ages.

My father went 'mmm' with every single bite to the point where it was kind of hilarious, especially the horse-radish mash which he had one bite of, went "mm!" and rapidly spooned it out for us all to try

The menu is pretty strange, ox tongue with aspic, veal holstein, and on the slightly creamy side, but huge amounts of choice and the option to have cold vokda with your meal is nice touch!

I had the beetroot and goatscheese salad to start, and when it came out it looked like it was made from glass, gorgeous - we all took pictures.

If you go, at least one person on your table must order the Chocolate Glory - a gold easter-egg type creation, filled with brownies and jelly and other goodies, which is delivered to your table and an immaculately suited (in bright pink or blue, none the less) waiter will pour over steaming chocolate sauce until it caves in.

Brilliant meal, would recommend to all, although on the pricey side so better for one of those special occasions (when someone else is paying, haha)



Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Nancy September 02, 2010

Great fun

Went here with my Dad, his girlfriend and my boyfriend and we had a wonderful time. Everything was delicious, the service was great, the interior was interesting and felt like it had been there for absolutely ages.

My father went 'mmm' with every single bite to the point where it was kind of hilarious, especially the horse-radish mash which he had one bite of, went "mm!" and rapidly spooned it out for us all to try

The menu is pretty strange, ox tongue with aspic, veal holstein, and on the slightly creamy side, but huge amounts of choice and the option to have cold vokda with your meal is nice touch!

I had the beetroot and goatscheese salad to start, and when it came out it looked like it was made from glass, gorgeous - we all took pictures.

If you go, at least one person on your table must order the Chocolate Glory - a gold easter-egg type creation, filled with brownies and jelly and other goodies, which is delivered to your table and an immaculately suited (in bright pink or blue, none the less) waiter will pour over steaming chocolate sauce until it caves in.

Brilliant meal, would recommend to all, although on the pricey side so better for one of those special occasions (when someone else is paying, haha)



Was this review helpful to you? 
Since going here, I've recommended this brasserie to many friends (especially girls) who I know will love the button which you press for champagne - a fantastic idea and I will be going back for more.

The food was also great, I love the fact that the menu seems so random and it doesn't matter whether you order desert followed by starter - you can do what you like and late at night it's the ideal place to relax and unwind.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by B. Welply March 26, 2010

I like it, a lot!

Since going here, I've recommended this brasserie to many friends (especially girls) who I know will love the button which you press for champagne - a fantastic idea and I will be going back for more.

The food was also great, I love the fact that the menu seems so random and it doesn't matter whether you order desert followed by starter - you can do what you like and late at night it's the ideal place to relax and unwind.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address1 Upper James Street, Soho, London W1F 9DF
Telephone number 0203 145 1000
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainOxford Circus/ Picadilly Circus
Opening timesDaily 7am - 3am
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login