Hot Dinners

Review

Berners Tavern Hot


10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP
Latest critic review: February 25, 2014
Critics' score: 7 out of 10 Users' score: 0.0 out of 10
Write Review
berners.jpg

In charge of the restaurant at the London Edition is Jason Atherton and Atherton's Phil Carmichael, formerly Head Chef at Pollen Street Social, will be in the kitchen.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on February 25, 2014
"The first thing you notice about Berners Tavern, and the last thing, and in fact all you notice for much of what happens inbetween, is That Room. Part palace ballroom, part Paris Salon, this lavish space, with its lofty carved ceiling, three-story illuminated bar and walls appointed with a bewildering number and variety of framed paintings, photographs and mirrors, could easily be the most impressive in town. It's like eating in the Halls of Versaille. Unsurprisingly, then, the food has a hard time living up to it all." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on November 17, 2013
"The food looks perfectly nice as it arrives, arranged in little dishes and thimbles, elegant and perky, but like the pictures on the walls, it is a phoney first impression and an utter shame." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on November 16, 2013
"Our food is every bit as lovely. Currently as ubiquitous as kale, chef Jason Atherton is le patron – not actually cooking there, but with his signature style sprawled all over the menu: local produce; Med nudging against true Brit; rich, sticky, carby things in little saucepans (halibut served with a spot-on squid ink risotto, topped with crisp fried calamari)." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 11, 2013
"T had warm almond brioche with pear compote and ginger sorbet. It came in a jar that he found hard to negotiate with his spoon. And that, so long as we understand the economics of the place, that it is Special Occasion Only, is just about our only complaint." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 19, 2013
"But the fact is I went too early. I ruined Berners Tavern because I am a crap critic. The chef is a genius, the front of house is a bona fide professional and the dining room is one of the most exciting in London. It is just me who is a bit shit. So wait a few weeks, like I ought to have done. And then go. It’ll be great." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Tracey Macleod Independent
Reviewed by October 12, 2013
"Grown-up and gorgeous as the Berners Tavern is, this Schrager-bomb of a restaurant won't suit everyone. But for a statement of the swaggering confidence of London's world-class dining scene, it is, as Bridget would say, v v good indeed." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Steve Dinneen City AM
Reviewed on October 02, 2013
"...it’s essentially fine dining for people who want to chug pink cocktails and throw outrageous shapes. And there is nothing wrong with that." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on September 27, 2013
"We left at midnight and the next day was a terrible write-off. I like Berners Tavern — it’s big, brash and lends itself to the art of being naughty." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on September 26, 2013
"The huge lobby bar looks fabulous; but the vast dining room, with its ornate plasterwork ceiling, very low lighting and lively bar area, looks even better. The menu’s prices are alarmingly high – but most of the dishes we tried were very good." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP
Telephone number 020 7908 7979
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainTottenham Court Road
Bar area
• Photo by Nikolas Koenig

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login