Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

10 Greek Street

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/98/74/0a/1586_10greek_132990495020.jpg
10 Greek Street, London W1D 4DH
Latest critic review: January 14, 2013


10 Greek Street

Former Head Chef of critics' fave The Wapping Project, Cameron Emirali, teamed up with Luke Wilson for this restaurant in Soho. Expect "Modern European and there is a daily-changing menu that will concentrate on seasonality and fresh ingredients." And on top of that, one of the most impressive wine lists in town too.


Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 9 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on January 14, 2013
"Factor in a superb wine list as decently priced as the food, in fact, and 10 Greek Street is right up there with Polpo and Polpetto among the most impressive of Soho’s ageist new wave." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on July 10, 2012
"So, for once on this usually consensus-happy blog, I find myself playing the part of the contrarian. 10 Greek Street has little but praise from anyone I've ever spoken to who's been there, and yet here I am having to leave it a rather mediocre review." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on May 06, 2012
"I want a restaurant to have a higher aspiration than to replace what we’re not getting at home. I don’t want them just to be kitchen mistresses with better crackling." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on May 05, 2012
"...I had almost as much regret for the meal not eaten, the path not chosen, as I had joy in eating what I did. And that is what The End of the Affair, you see, and really most of Graham Greene, and life in general, is all about." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on March 28, 2012
"The night we visit there are some stellar choices: a properly made risotto, rich with silky shreds of wild boar and fragrant with new season’s garlic; baby squid stuffed with that Mallorcan smoky and spreadable chorizo, sobrasada – like a play on tapas classic, stuffed piquillo peppers, with the ingredients reversed."
READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on March 10, 2012
"My haunch of venison was a thing of beauty, four hefty tranches of deer perfectly cooked, lividly purple in the middle. Truffle mash was pureed to silkenness – and a lump of cooked quince (uh-oh) was sensibly confined to the side of the dish." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on March 05, 2012
"On the evidence of our visit, though, the wines far outshine the food. The bread, focaccia, was decent enough, but the starter du jour we’d opted for was simply a disaster." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on February 26, 2012
"This Soho newcomer, from a team with the good pedigree of the Wapping Project, is more than convincing. It is, to finally answer my tweeter's question – I refused to be drawn ahead of this review – a bit of a diamond." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Nicholas Lander Financial Times Estimated score
Reviewed by February 24, 2012
"The wait is worth it on the basis of what I have enjoyed there. The basics are very good, from the bread Emirali bakes every morning to a bowl of celeriac and apple soup and grilled sardines with a salsa verde." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on February 21, 2012
"We liked the smoked eel starter, served with a slightly sweet horseradish sauce and beetroot; and carved Gressingham duck breast was correctly pink and tender, served with pancetta." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on February 16, 2012
"Of the duck meat with its self-basting layer of fat (my friend) said, "This is delicious", repeated "delicious" and then a bit later on enquired, "Did I mention that this is delicious?" I was too busy with my char-grilled Brecon leg of lamb with sprouting broccoli and anchovy to pay much attention." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on February 14, 2012
"It might be pitching itself against big boys like Arbutus just around the corner but thanks to good food and excellent wine, 10 Greek Street certainly has enough about it to succeed." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 10 Greek Street, London W1D 4DH

Cuisine: Modern European

Nearest station: Tottenham Court Road

Opening times: Monday to Saturday 12pm-11.30pm
Lunch 12pm-2.30pm (bookings taken)
Dinner 5.30pm-11pm (walk-in only)

 

Contact info

View restaurant website

No reservations

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares