Hot Dinners

Review

10 Greek Street Hot


10 Greek Street, London W1D 4DH
Latest critic review: January 14, 2013
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 8.0 out of 10
Write Review

Head Chef of critics' fave The Wapping Project, Cameron Emirali, is teaming up with the former manager of Exmouth Market's The Ambassador, Luke Wilson, with this restaurant in Soho. Expect "Modern European and there is a daily-changing menu that will concentrate on seasonality and fresh ingredients."

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on January 14, 2013
"Factor in a superb wine list as decently priced as the food, in fact, and 10 Greek Street is right up there with Polpo and Polpetto among the most impressive of Soho’s ageist new wave." READ REVIEW

Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on July 10, 2012
"So, for once on this usually consensus-happy blog, I find myself playing the part of the contrarian. 10 Greek Street has little but praise from anyone I've ever spoken to who's been there, and yet here I am having to leave it a rather mediocre review." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on May 06, 2012
"I want a restaurant to have a higher aspiration than to replace what we’re not getting at home. I don’t want them just to be kitchen mistresses with better crackling." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on May 05, 2012
"...I had almost as much regret for the meal not eaten, the path not chosen, as I had joy in eating what I did. And that is what The End of the Affair, you see, and really most of Graham Greene, and life in general, is all about." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on March 28, 2012
"The night we visit there are some stellar choices: a properly made risotto, rich with silky shreds of wild boar and fragrant with new season’s garlic; baby squid stuffed with that Mallorcan smoky and spreadable chorizo, sobrasada – like a play on tapas classic, stuffed piquillo peppers, with the ingredients reversed."
READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on March 10, 2012
"My haunch of venison was a thing of beauty, four hefty tranches of deer perfectly cooked, lividly purple in the middle. Truffle mash was pureed to silkenness – and a lump of cooked quince (uh-oh) was sensibly confined to the side of the dish." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on March 05, 2012
"On the evidence of our visit, though, the wines far outshine the food. The bread, focaccia, was decent enough, but the starter du jour we’d opted for was simply a disaster." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on February 26, 2012
"This Soho newcomer, from a team with the good pedigree of the Wapping Project, is more than convincing. It is, to finally answer my tweeter's question – I refused to be drawn ahead of this review – a bit of a diamond." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Nicholas Lander Financial Times
Reviewed by February 24, 2012
"The wait is worth it on the basis of what I have enjoyed there. The basics are very good, from the bread Emirali bakes every morning to a bowl of celeriac and apple soup and grilled sardines with a salsa verde." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on February 21, 2012
"We liked the smoked eel starter, served with a slightly sweet horseradish sauce and beetroot; and carved Gressingham duck breast was correctly pink and tender, served with pancetta." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on February 16, 2012
"Of the duck meat with its self-basting layer of fat (my friend) said, "This is delicious", repeated "delicious" and then a bit later on enquired, "Did I mention that this is delicious?" I was too busy with my char-grilled Brecon leg of lamb with sprouting broccoli and anchovy to pay much attention." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on February 14, 2012
"It might be pitching itself against big boys like Arbutus just around the corner but thanks to good food and excellent wine, 10 Greek Street certainly has enough about it to succeed." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Since reading a review of 10 Greek Street I have become a fan and have been four times and introduced friends to its delights as well.

Whilst none of the dishes are overly complicated, the focus on layers of flavour are knock out. Just starting with the bread, lovely onion and thyme as well as a judiciously salted rye bread give a clear indication of where the sights are aimed.

Perhaps it's Cameron Emirali background, but there's always squid or octopus as a starter, and wonderful they are. But also perfectly soused herring fillets or a terrine if you're more carnivorous.

However, the absolute best I had yesterday - shallot tatin. Roasted shallots in a thin pastry case, with burrata (acting as the traditional 'custard') with asparagus for a counter flavour and bitter rocket to bite through the burrata's richness - truly a masterpiece of flavour and texture combination.

Go - do not pass Go - just Go!
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Mark Lucas Reviewed by Mark Lucas May 25, 2012

Consistently excellent

Since reading a review of 10 Greek Street I have become a fan and have been four times and introduced friends to its delights as well.

Whilst none of the dishes are overly complicated, the focus on layers of flavour are knock out. Just starting with the bread, lovely onion and thyme as well as a judiciously salted rye bread give a clear indication of where the sights are aimed.

Perhaps it's Cameron Emirali background, but there's always squid or octopus as a starter, and wonderful they are. But also perfectly soused herring fillets or a terrine if you're more carnivorous.

However, the absolute best I had yesterday - shallot tatin. Roasted shallots in a thin pastry case, with burrata (acting as the traditional 'custard') with asparagus for a counter flavour and bitter rocket to bite through the burrata's richness - truly a masterpiece of flavour and texture combination.

Go - do not pass Go - just Go!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address10 Greek Street, London W1D 4DH
trainTottenham Court Road
Opening timesMonday to Saturday 12pm-11.30pm
Lunch 12pm-2.30pm (bookings taken)
Dinner 5.30pm-11pm (walk-in only)

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login