Hix at the Tramshed

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/7d/46/cd/1811_tramshed-133987077034.jpg
32 Rivington Street, London EC2A 3LX
Latest critic review: August 01, 2012
Critics' score: 7 out of 10



Mark Hix is back in force in East London with this huge new restaurant featuring a menu based around chicken and steak. Look out for the enormous Damien Hirst "cock and bull" as you enter.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on August 01, 2012
"The steak is good... But it’s not brilliant and, for this money, I want brilliant. Our poussin for one is a dry little beastie, about enough meat on it to feed a toddler." READ REVIEW

Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on July 23, 2012
"The service was charming, the wine list is balanced and full of New World fun and, all in all, Tramshed ranks among the most thrilling and adorable London newbies since Heston Blumenthal’s Dinner." READ REVIEW

Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 29, 2012
"I want to love Tramshed, but frankly, I think I’d be better off in Nando’s." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on June 30, 2012
"...the steak was fine, but didn’t quite live up to the campest billing I have ever seen on a menu, which declared that, “Our beef is dry aged in a Himalayan salt chamber, on Peter Hannan’s farm on the Glenarm Estate, Northern Ireland” – the sort of line that makes you want to squeal, “Go, girlfriend!”" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on June 30, 2012
"(The chicken) was a very good piece of meat, flawlessly cooked. It wasn't particularly exciting, and I think I can cook it at least as well at home. But as I'm probably making clear, I didn't really see the point of Tramshed, which may merely mean that I'm not the intended customer." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on June 23, 2012
"There's so much to like about Tramshed. It's perfectly pitched to appeal to both hipsters and oldsters. Staff are young and keen. The wine list covers all price points, with selections by the glass, carafe and even magnum. There's a takeaway counter, for steak sandwiches and the like. And children eat free at weekends." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on June 20, 2012
"It has plenty of depth of flavor and costs 20 pounds for 250 grams, rising to 80 pounds for a kilo (2.2 pounds). It’s good value and hard to criticize, but it is not outstanding and I shan’t be abandoning CUT, Goodman or Hawksmoor." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tim Hayward FT
Reviewed on June 15, 2012
"The birds come from Woolley Park in Wiltshire (Hix buys their entire output) and are somehow cooked in such a way that both breast and leg are juicy – this may be something to do with the serving dish or may, for all I know, be voodoo." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on June 13, 2012
"From the restaurateur’s point of view that may be – commercially speaking – a ‘sweet spot’ that’s well worth inhabiting. Indeed, we left wondering if Tramshed – for all its seeming aching hipness – isn’t really just a Berni Inn* for the 21st century." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Kelly Hussey View London
Reviewed by June 12, 2012
"If you don’t fancy white tablecloths and dainty food then this is the ideal antidote to all of the ostentatious faff." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed on June 08, 2012
"Our dry-aged steak was expertly cooked: toothsome, pink-middled and with a lightly charred edge. Likewise, the claws-and-all roast chicken, was juicy and full-flavoured." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 06, 2012
"Tramshed is a terrific achievement, a great addition to London altogether. Being able to create a restaurant of this size, so ruthlessly conceived and faultlessly executed, in such a noble building, so stylishly converted, is unimaginable anywhere else..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on May 29, 2012
"...we honestly didn't enjoy ourselves at the Tramshed, and though that may have partially been due to the fact the room was baking hot (there's no air conditioning, and only a few lucky tables have fans directed towards them) mainly it was because most of what we ate veered between boring and bizarre and managed to cost £88 with only 3 glasses of wine." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
 





More information

Address32 Rivington Street, London EC2A 3LX
Telephone number 020 7749 0478
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainOld StreetOld Street
  • Bar area
  • Takeaway available
• Photo © Damien Hirst, 2012

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares