Hoi Polloi at the Ace Hotel

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/5c/c2/25/2826_hoipolloi-1381960674.jpg
100 Shoreditch High St, London E1 6JQ
Latest critic review: March 02, 2014
Critics' score: 7 out of 10



The Ace hotels are always huge wherever they open, the New York one has April Bloomfiled in the house, and have a distinct hipsterish/trendy vibe about them. This Shoreditch outpost sees them bringing in the people behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy's to run the restaurant, which will serve seasonal English food.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on March 02, 2014
"I can't claim the cooking is good enough to quite wrestle the entire proposition out of the realms of Shoreditch Tossfestery. But you can eat well here, if you manage not to think about the cost." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on February 02, 2014
"Hoi Polloi would only be a disappointment if you came with expectations. It was a kitchen that believed its cool status would overcome its fundamental laziness and deficiency. It’s not clever and it’s not funny." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 2
Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed on October 27, 2013
"This is, indeed, how hoi polloi should eat: unfussy and surrounded by warmth. Goodness knows what Thucydides would have made of it, but I shall be coming back time and again." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed by November 15, 2013
"When I went I ate a perfectly good skirt steak with dripping chips and an onion fritter, a cobnut salad (which comes with salad cream, of which I’m a shameless fan), plus a date pudding with marmalade ice cream and treacle sauce. ‘Yes’ to all of this." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Joe Warwick Metro
Reviewed on October 31, 2013
"Try as I may, fit for purpose as it might be, it’s currently hard to get excited by Hoi Polloi’s rather utilitarian menu, despite the technical excellence and stylish scene that surrounds it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 24, 2013
"Potato dumplings (aka gnocchi) are served with tender baby globe artichokes and wild mushrooms. The size of this – and other savoury dishes – was modest, but prices are fair. Old-fashioned lemon posset is given a contemporary twist with a red berry puree. All our dishes were faultess." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 09, 2013
"Parsley and potato soup with mustard cream, sounding so innocuous, is extraordinarily potent in its hit of chlorophyll. Little fists of charred broccoli go well with pearly flakes of salt cod. A chap at the next table with whom I am now on warmly friendly terms has recommended it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 





More information

Address100 Shoreditch High St, London E1 6JQ
Telephone number 020 8880 6100
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainShoreditch High Street
Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares