Hot Dinners

Review

Beard to Tail Hot


77 Curtain Rd, London EC2A 3BS
Latest critic review: March 14, 2013
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 5.0 out of 10
Write Review

The team behind the Shoreditch cocktail institution, Callooh Callay, previewed this restaurant with a pop-up which gave us an idea of what the real thing will deliver. Expect a big focus on meat (tartare, pulled beef, pigs trotters, pork loin) and plenty of strong cocktails and waistline busting alcoholic desserts.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

John O'Ceallaigh Telegraph
Reviewed on March 14, 2013
"(The extra gratuity) leaves a bad taste in the mouth, one that overshadows what had been an enjoyable meal with service that had been charming until we tried to pay." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed by November 04, 2012
"Reading is probably the only thing you'll enjoy doing at this joint. After eating there I wanted to nick the menu and give it to someone with enough talent to realise its potential. It is one long masterclass in disappointment." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 4
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on November 03, 2012
"Beard to Tail will, mark my words, be lionised by east London trendsetters for months to come. The food is relentlessly beefy and piggy, but with the new trend for chicken-only or steak-only establishments, that won't hurt." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Time Out Editors Time Out
Reviewed on October 31, 2012
"There's a stuffed pig's trotter, baked bone marrow, ribs, burger, black pudding and faggots. And although it wasn't apparent why a prawn cocktail had to be 'deconstructed', it was delicious nonetheless." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Cathy Adams City AM
Reviewed on October 23, 2012
"A mere half an hour later, the rumpy pumpy arrives. The size of a small piglet, it was all fat, tender slabs of pork smothered in crackling and with a pleasingly fatty rind. It was clichéd melt-in-the-mouth-type stuff." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Overall the Beard to Tail is on par with, if not better than St. Johns. In my view the dishes are more interesting and they are a lot cheaper. I also preferred the ambience, as it is more relaxed. The only thing to watch out for is the service, which was patchy, although this could just be down to it being new staff in a new restaurant and will probably improve over time. I just hope they stop cutting your food up.London food blog
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Gentlemens Luncheon Club November 27, 2012

Nose to Tail Eating

Overall the Beard to Tail is on par with, if not better than St. Johns. In my view the dishes are more interesting and they are a lot cheaper. I also preferred the ambience, as it is more relaxed. The only thing to watch out for is the service, which was patchy, although this could just be down to it being new staff in a new restaurant and will probably improve over time. I just hope they stop cutting your food up.London food blog

Was this review helpful to you? 
-Food portion is small. If I am eating meat, I would expect large.
-Food is coming very slow.
-I would get nicer same dishes in St John's, Great Queen St.etc

+Nice atmosphere.
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Reviewed by Elyse November 11, 2012

-Food portion is small. If I am eating meat, I would expect large.
-Food is coming very slow.
-I would get nicer same dishes in St John's, Great Queen St.etc

+Nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address 77 Curtain Rd, London EC2A 3BS
Telephone number 020 7729 2966
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainOld Street/ Shoreditch High Street overground
Opening times7 days a week, 6pm until 11pm

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login