Andina

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/23/44/70/andina-17-1388245617.jpg
1 Redchurch Street, London E2 7DJ
Latest critic review: March 09, 2014
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10



The original Ceviche was a big hit in Soho and this is Martin Morales second restaurant, this time in Shoreditch. The new place takes its influence from Peruvian ‘picanterias’, traditional family run restaurants serving local people from breakfast through to dinner.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on March 09, 2014
"This place is patchy and mad, sometimes plain wrong, like a package holiday run by maniacs. And yet it’s original and occasionally fabulous." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on February 21, 2014
"The ají de gallina — chicken casserole — was a lovely bowl of sunset-coloured rice in an unctuous sauce with one solitary sad drumstick atop sat crying, ‘Why am I alone? Where is my brother?’ The quinoa chocolate brownie was rather good." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed by February 06, 2014
"Unfamiliar names and unusual combinations litter the menu, such as the chupe (seafood chowder) of black quinoa, king prawns, broad beans and giant corn, and leave 
you wondering if you’ll ever order 
a burger again." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on January 16, 2014
"...although we didn't walk away disappointed by any means, it still wasn't exactly a bargain. But as with Ceviche in Soho, it's an interesting, confidently idiosynractic little restaurant and if you want an introduction to Peruvian food - or are inexplicably addicted to quinoa - you could do much worse than book a table." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Andrew Neather Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 30, 2014
"It’s visually attractive, yet I couldn’t help feeling that Andina somehow adds up to less than the sum of its parts. For all the subtropical quirks, a lot of Andean food is in fact rather starchy peasant fare. Andina does more than that — but not yet quite enough." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed on December 19, 2013
"Something about Andina is just not working. It’s not the service (friendly with a hint of upsell) or even the room; the food is just not convincing. A menu of unfamiliar dishes can have a powerful pull. But having had what we’ve had, we walk away with no regrets about dishes untasted." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 





More information

Address1 Redchurch Street, London E2 7DJ
Telephone number 020 7920 6499
Cuisine
trainShoreditch High Street OvergroundShoreditch High Street
Opening timesWeekdays 8am - 11pm
Weekends 10am - 11pm
Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares