Hot Dinners

Review

The Fish and Chip Shop Hot


189 Upper Street Islington, London N1 1RQ
Latest critic review: August 04, 2013
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10 Users' score: 0.0 out of 10
Write Review

This new "posh" fish and chip restaurant is from Des McDonald, ex CEO of Caprice, together with Lee Bull, ex Head Chef of Caprice. They're offering a mix of take away and eat in options including a range of butties (including crab and in-house saveloys), lobster rolls and a changing range of seasonal sustainable fish.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on August 04, 2013
"I get the cod munchies about once a year, and next time this is where I’m coming for the vinegar, salt, crispy, slimy, panting, blow-cheeked fix." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 28, 2013
"But I can only speak as I find, and while I do know plenty of people who've really enjoyed their time at the Fish and Chip Shop, I'm afraid I don't have the stomach, or the funds, to give it another go. Not even if they started serving proper mushy peas." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Joe Warwick Metro
Reviewed on June 27, 2013
"Then there’s the J Sheekey-goes-affluent-high-street feel of the place – perfectly pleasant but somehow lacking in soul. If Mumford & Sons were a fish’n’chip shop, they’d probably look like this." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed by June 07, 2013
"This is not a place for seafood connoisseurs. It’s for a good-looking, high-living crowd, all having a helluva time." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 12, 2013
"The cooking throughout was good, then (Steven Wilson, previously at Scott’s and Daphne’s, is head chef), and the meal enjoyable enough — but there remains something inherently faux in pushing the chippy so far upmarket, not to mention rolling the concept out as an international chain, as Des McDonald plans." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on June 15, 2013
"I dare say some people will carp at areas of inauthenticity or pretension that they think they perceive, but this is a proper bloody fish restaurant and the best thing to happen in North London since, well, the birth of my son." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on June 15, 2013
"The cooking (the chef is Lee Bull, former head chef at Le Caprice) isn't exactly adventurous but it's very high quality, full of forethought and care. The personnel were chatty, friendly and knowledgable. Even the coffee was terrific, sourced from a special roast café in Old Street." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address189 Upper Street Islington, London N1 1RQ
Telephone number 020 3227 0979
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainHighbury & Islington
  • Bar area
  • Outside seating (weather permitting)

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login