Hot Dinners

Review

Wolfgang Puck's Cut Hot


45 Park Lane, Mayfair, London W1K 1PN
Latest critic review: November 13, 2011
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 0.0 out of 10
Write Review

Wolfgang Puck made his fortune serving gourmet pizzas to Hollywood's elite. This is his first European restaurant - part of the Dorchester Collection. Expect a wide array of great steaks as well as plenty of interesting salads for stars to push around their plates.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed on November 13, 2011
"The best steak I have ever eaten is not on my plate, but sitting across from me, an Australian wagyu costing £70. The first thing that strikes me is the rhombus shape; the second is the powerful, gamey aroma; and the third is the obvious tenderness as Dominic takes his knife to it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 22, 2011
"Sorry. I don’t normally mention the money before I’ve got to the food. But this was ridiculous. Half a grand for a steak and a glass of red. If ever I could get a swearword past the Times censors, this is where I would try." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5.5
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on October 10, 2011
"The steaks are as fine as any you will find in London. They are right up there with Hawksmoor and Goodman: Not better but more refined -- posh and almost ladylike in their elegance." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on October 08, 2011
"Flavour. The meat had a little, but not nearly enough. The steakaholic friend with me expressed sombre disappointment and felt no need to finish them – quite a strong statement at that price." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on October 07, 2011
"In fact, everything we ate was really enjoyable. Not 'gourmet' perhaps. Just lip-smacking. Perfect comfort food for the cost-insensitive." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on October 02, 2011
"Much was good and the excellent bits were off the scale. If you're a carnivore in its true sense – you're genuinely not interested in foods that aren't meat – then you'll love it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on September 25, 2011
"So, as a steak restaurant, Cut is pretty damn good. The service is efficient, effusive and terrified... The atmosphere is friendly without warmth, erotic without libido, experienced rather than sophisticated." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Timothy Barber City AM
Reviewed by September 20, 2011
"... there’s fine steak to suit all tastes now, and more to come. That’s a very good thing – and even if I find CUT too fanch-shmancy by half, I’d hold nothing against those (and there will be many) who’ll find it the bees knees." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on September 17, 2011
"For a pair of carnivores, it was all sheer ambrosia. And the French fries were hand-cut with the skin partially on, perfectly herbed and salted. And the Napa Valley Duckthorn cab-sauv was a complex, savoury accompaniment. " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9.5
Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed on September 12, 2011
"Belying the experience thus far, the food was exceptional. Steakhouse classics were given the luxury treatment, with high-end ingredients and thoughtful presentation." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on September 08, 2011
"Advertising agencies used to say "you sell the sizzle not the sausage" and there was something man-in-a-pinny-fearlessly-confronting-elemental-fire lacking in these otherwise tender and reasonably flavourful slabs of meat." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address45 Park Lane, Mayfair, London W1K 1PN
Telephone number 020 7493 4554
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
trainHyde Park Corner
Opening timesBreakfast: Monday to Saturday: 7am – 10:30am
Sunday and Bank Holidays: 7:30am – 10:30am

Lunch: Monday to Saturday: 12pm– 3pm
Sunday and Bank Holidays: 12pm– 3pm

Dinner: Monday to Saturday: 6pm– 11:00pm
Sunday and Bank Holidays: 6pm– 10:30pm
Bar area

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login