Hot Dinners

Review

The Delaunay Hot


55 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BB
Latest critic review: June 17, 2012
Critics' score: 8 out of 10 Users' score: 9.5 out of 10
Write Review

Chris Corbin and Jeremy King have opened this massive sister restaurant to their hugely successful Wolseley. As you'd expect, the design is by David Collins. Front of house is legendary GM Sebastian Fogg, who used to be at The Ivy.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Gary Barlow Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 17, 2012
"The Delaunay is set right in the heart of theatreland, an area I wouldn’t usually go anywhere near unless I was going to a show. Pre- or post-show, it’s spot-on: fast, well cooked and elegantly served. Overall, this is an incredibly easy restaurant to eat at." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on April 07, 2012
"It's food for people who favour carbohydrate above all things, indeed see other food groups as its garnish, and food for people with an affiliation to simple, nursery cooking. It's men's food!" READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 30, 2012
"...the Delaunay is a grown-up restaurant. It’s hushed, and the soft lighting fills in the lines on your face as smoothly as Botox. The old can feel younger and the young can feel mature so both sides meet in that comfortable no man’s land of middle age." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 21, 2012
"I would hate to send you here, to this, I think, paragon of a restaurant, only for you to feel ignored when you arrive, or treated less well than the table next to you. But that’s what life is like." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on January 14, 2012
"The Delaunay instantly zooms to the top of my list of Restaurants to Take Special Friends For a Big Treat. It's lovely just to hang out there. The waiting staff are friendly and attentive. The prices aren't astronomical. You can't help feel it's your kinda place." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on January 14, 2012
"...I do have to say that, at the moment, if someone were offering me a treat here or at the Wolseley, I'd go for the one that has been open for longer." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed by January 04, 2012
"...I’m fed-up of being made to feel like a second-class citizen in the establishments of these superlative social engineers. No amount of flawless patisserie, silver coffee pots and expensive design can compensate." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on December 21, 2011
"Part of the joy of The Delaunay is that you're treated with equal decorum if you're a big spender, a celeb, or just popping in for Welsh rarebit or hot chocolate." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on December 08, 2011
"It is the consummate style, attention to detail, patience, comprehension of what people want and how they want it built up by Chris Corbin and Jeremy King over the 30 years since they bought Le Caprice in 1981 that has crystallised in this terrific new restaurant..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Kelly Hussey View London
Reviewed on December 05, 2011
"Delaunay gets the balance right. Sophisticated without being pompous, it’s the ‘affordable’ option for doing quality in the capital." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.5  (4)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
It is very difficult to rate - it is really 5 restaurants as they do breakfast, lunch, tee, dinner, and brunch. I can only talk about breakfast and tea.

Breakfast - good selection on the menu, very good food - 8

Tea - everything you want and dream about - 10
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Juerg Mueller November 12, 2013

5 in 1

It is very difficult to rate - it is really 5 restaurants as they do breakfast, lunch, tee, dinner, and brunch. I can only talk about breakfast and tea.

Breakfast - good selection on the menu, very good food - 8

Tea - everything you want and dream about - 10

Was this review helpful to you? 
I discovered the Delaunay café last week. And what a great discovery! As a French person, I've been lookong for long to eventually find a patisserie where each cake is appealing, full of flavour and so moist! I couldn't help but have some to take away to share with the family!
What I was impressed the most was the customer service, and particularly the one provided by the General Manager Dominika Mastalarz. She impressed me with her manners and her efficient way to deal with customers requests.
I would recommend anyone to try it up! Enjoy!!!
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Nahid November 01, 2012

fantastic customer service, great patisseries!

I discovered the Delaunay café last week. And what a great discovery! As a French person, I've been lookong for long to eventually find a patisserie where each cake is appealing, full of flavour and so moist! I couldn't help but have some to take away to share with the family!
What I was impressed the most was the customer service, and particularly the one provided by the General Manager Dominika Mastalarz. She impressed me with her manners and her efficient way to deal with customers requests.
I would recommend anyone to try it up! Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I ate there in the first week and again this week. This week the atmosphere was better because the restaurant was fill and the atmosphere was buzzy. The designer has done a stunning job, creating one of the most spectacular rooms in London. The style of menu is similar to The Wolseley but with enough difference to make it interesting. Like the Wolseley the cooking is good but not sensational, the menu is comfortingly familiar and the atmosphere sophisticated and buzzy! Like the Wolseley try and get a table in the inner circle. A very welcome new addition to London dining.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Neilmc February 17, 2012

I ate there in the first week and again this week. This week the atmosphere was better because the restaurant was fill and the atmosphere was buzzy. The designer has done a stunning job, creating one of the most spectacular rooms in London. The style of menu is similar to The Wolseley but with enough difference to make it interesting. Like the Wolseley the cooking is good but not sensational, the menu is comfortingly familiar and the atmosphere sophisticated and buzzy! Like the Wolseley try and get a table in the inner circle. A very welcome new addition to London dining.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was fortunate to attend the soft opening, and was impressed at the impeccable food choice, great service without the stuffiness,it was the perfect atompshere and fast becomign a regular place to hang out.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by saima khan December 20, 2011

Perfection...

I was fortunate to attend the soft opening, and was impressed at the impeccable food choice, great service without the stuffiness,it was the perfect atompshere and fast becomign a regular place to hang out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address55 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BB
Telephone number 020 7499 8558
trainCovent Garden/ Temple
Opening timesMonday to Friday: 7am until midnight
Saturday: 8am until midnight
Sunday: 11am until 11pm
  • Private Hire available
  • Shop onsite

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login