Hot Dinners

Review

Shoryu Ramen Hot


9 Regent St, London SW1Y 4LR
Latest critic review: August 24, 2013
Critics' score: 7 out of 10 Users' score: 7.3 out of 10
Write Review

This ramen restaurant specialises in Hakata tonkotsu ramen noodles with a recipe created by chef Kanji Furukawa, who was born and raised in Hakatan. Varieties include wWasabi, piri piri and their signature Shoryu version. Traditional sushi, sashimi and starter dishes are also available.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on August 24, 2013
"The management at Shoryu insist that their food is 100 per cent authentic, prepared by a chap born and raised in Hakata. I'm sure for the south Japan locals, it's the last word in ramen paradise. For some of us, I'm afraid it remains an acquired taste." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed by February 05, 2013
"Shoryu is objectively is doing plenty of things right. I only wish I had the time and money to try more of the menu..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on February 03, 2013
"I enjoyed this so much more than the Wag sophistication, the minimal etiquette of sushi restaurants, with their laughable expense and regrettable clientele — the aimless international, the crookedly commercial and the coarsely available." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on December 21, 2012
"There's a forest of beansprouts to negotiate before you get to the good stuff: papery nori that faints into the broth; wood ear mushrooms; strips of red ginger. The piri piri version has a cough-making belt of chilli." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
Celia Plender Time Out
Reviewed on November 26, 2012
"Run by the same people as the Japan Centre across the road, Shoryu is an authentically Japanese experience. They've even shipped in a chef from Hakata, the Japanese district best known for the tonkotsu ramen that Shoryu specialises in." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.3  (3)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Popped in whilst waiting to meet a friend, no waiting, got sat straight down. I went for the Charsui Tonkotsu (extra pork) and was not let down!
The woman next to me had the fire and ice salmon and was loudly singing its praises. I shall definitely have that next time.
Oh yeah, get the Hirata buns whilst you can as they are deee-licious! Actually don't think I should recommend them as apparently only a limited amount per day!
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Andy Badwell February 28, 2013

Extra bbq pork!? Don't mind if I do!

Popped in whilst waiting to meet a friend, no waiting, got sat straight down. I went for the Charsui Tonkotsu (extra pork) and was not let down!
The woman next to me had the fire and ice salmon and was loudly singing its praises. I shall definitely have that next time.
Oh yeah, get the Hirata buns whilst you can as they are deee-licious! Actually don't think I should recommend them as apparently only a limited amount per day!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've been to Shoryu a few times now (working my way through the menu!) and am so happy to have good tonkotsu ramen now in the UK. I like miso ramen, but tonkotsu is so creamy and delicious and reminds me of home. My favourite is the Charsiu Tonkotsu, but I love the Dracula one and the Yuzu one when I want something different. The gyoza is ok but the hirata buns and soft shell crab are my favourite!! It's very busy a lot of the time so sometimes I have to queue, but that's ok, I can decide what to order ;) Service is fast and friendly, a great place to come with my friends. Yummy ramen, I love it! Will be back again and again.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by CC February 28, 2013

Great ramen, good prices

I've been to Shoryu a few times now (working my way through the menu!) and am so happy to have good tonkotsu ramen now in the UK. I like miso ramen, but tonkotsu is so creamy and delicious and reminds me of home. My favourite is the Charsiu Tonkotsu, but I love the Dracula one and the Yuzu one when I want something different. The gyoza is ok but the hirata buns and soft shell crab are my favourite!! It's very busy a lot of the time so sometimes I have to queue, but that's ok, I can decide what to order ;) Service is fast and friendly, a great place to come with my friends. Yummy ramen, I love it! Will be back again and again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I visited this restaurant with my father who was visiting from Tokyo. Being a Japanese who lived in London for many years and longed for authentic ramen restaurants, I had a high hope for this new tonkotsu ramen place. Therefore it was extremely disappointing to experience one of the worst services I have ever encountered in restaurants. When we arrived the place was very busy and since nobody greeted us we tried to take a free table. Then the manager came over immediately and snapped “you will have to wait, there are other people who arrived before you”. A manner not typically seen in a Japanese restaurant! But we were given a table soon after and the ramen dish I picked from a fairly wide range of choices was pretty tasty so I put behind the initial unpleasantness. Then the bill came: my father spotted that they added 30% service charge! When he pointed this out to a waiter, he blamed it on the till machine. We thought it was a poor excuse since machine does not ‘make mistakes’ – it must have been a human error! We called the manager to complain about this appalling error and the insincere apology provided by the waiter but he was equally unapologetic. So we ended up storming off the restaurant (after paying the bill but without any tip, of course!). A very disappointing experience indeed. I will not go there again until they change the manager! Luckily there are now a couple of other good tonkotsu places in London.

Overall rating 
 
2.0
K Toyama Reviewed by K Toyama December 28, 2012

Good food let down by appalling service

I visited this restaurant with my father who was visiting from Tokyo. Being a Japanese who lived in London for many years and longed for authentic ramen restaurants, I had a high hope for this new tonkotsu ramen place. Therefore it was extremely disappointing to experience one of the worst services I have ever encountered in restaurants. When we arrived the place was very busy and since nobody greeted us we tried to take a free table. Then the manager came over immediately and snapped “you will have to wait, there are other people who arrived before you”. A manner not typically seen in a Japanese restaurant! But we were given a table soon after and the ramen dish I picked from a fairly wide range of choices was pretty tasty so I put behind the initial unpleasantness. Then the bill came: my father spotted that they added 30% service charge! When he pointed this out to a waiter, he blamed it on the till machine. We thought it was a poor excuse since machine does not ‘make mistakes’ – it must have been a human error! We called the manager to complain about this appalling error and the insincere apology provided by the waiter but he was equally unapologetic. So we ended up storming off the restaurant (after paying the bill but without any tip, of course!). A very disappointing experience indeed. I will not go there again until they change the manager! Luckily there are now a couple of other good tonkotsu places in London.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address9 Regent St, London SW1Y 4LR
Telephone numberAverage price: Inexpensive
Cuisine
trainPiccadilly Circus
• No bookings

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login