Hot Dinners

Review

Murano Hot


20 Queen Street, London, W1J 5PR
Latest critic review: January 29, 2013
Critics' score: 8 out of 10 Users' score: 9.0 out of 10
Write Review


Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Steve Dinneen City AM
Reviewed on January 29, 2013
"The food was very good, sometimes close to great, but unless you absolutely can’t live without the champagne, I’d forgo the bubbles and get in on that lunchtime action for a fraction of the price." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Jeremy Hazlehurst City AM
Reviewed on July 14, 2009
"Fabulous Italian food from Angela Hartnett, let down by careless service, very expensive extras and a dull room." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5.5
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on November 25, 2008
"Murano? It's good but I just can't get excited about it. As the Collins English Dictionary now puts it: meh." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on November 13, 2008
"Overall, Hartnett is a charismatic, sure-footed, sometimes awesome chef." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on October 04, 2008
"This was a sparkling meal by any standards, and you may never find a better set lunch for a pony than the one I ate. And yet that little voice nags away that this is a labour not of love, but of fealty." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on September 20, 2008
"All the fish dishes I tried were awesome. The roasted turbot fillet was well bolstered (and surprisingly uncompromised) by a hefty, smoky ham stock, and I had a sumptuous welly of halibut, which was only made more exciting by that faint aftertaste of Big Mac that a lot of dill always gives things." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Jan Moir Are You Ready to Eat
Reviewed on September 18, 2008
"Yet overall, Murano is a tremendous new restaurant, a fabulous addition to the London dining scene." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed by September 06, 2008
"...it seemed churlish to be anything but delighted by this very good meal. But when your expectations about the talented Ms Hartnett are stratospheric, you're not satisfied by the merely very good." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on September 05, 2008
"I dive into the saddle of lamb with all the gusto of a Welsh hill farmer. It arrives with shoulder tortellini, grilled courgettes and lamb juice. The richly flavoured meat invites your teeth to sink into it and comes in the most delicate - though sadly singular and small - tortellini." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on September 04, 2008
"...simplicity is made a virtue. The food is sensational from the first nibble" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Fay Mascher Evening Standard
Reviewed on August 27, 2008
"I rather wish that Angela Hartnett could find a sugar daddy who would back her in her own enterprise. Then she and her food could shine out in the sort of joyful context they both deserve." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
The Apricot souffle was a taste of heaven.

We just loved Murano, we feared the restaurant would be a little cold in atmosphere from the reviews we have seen, nothing could have been further from the case. The decor is warm and welcoming as are the staff, service was fantastic and as for the food; my highlight was the pudding, although the starter of red mullet linguine was delicious and the parmesan cream that came with the veal was very moreish.

The only reason I haven't given the restaurant 10 is the price - admittedly we ate and drank a lot but £350 for two was a bit steep.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Rebecca Littlewood September 28, 2009

Murano

The Apricot souffle was a taste of heaven.

We just loved Murano, we feared the restaurant would be a little cold in atmosphere from the reviews we have seen, nothing could have been further from the case. The decor is warm and welcoming as are the staff, service was fantastic and as for the food; my highlight was the pudding, although the starter of red mullet linguine was delicious and the parmesan cream that came with the veal was very moreish.

The only reason I haven't given the restaurant 10 is the price - admittedly we ate and drank a lot but £350 for two was a bit steep.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address20 Queen Street, London, W1J 5PR
Telephone number 020 7592 1222
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 3 AA Rosettes
trainGreen Park
Opening timesMonday - Saturday: Lunch 12.00pm - 2.30pm, Dinner 6.30pm - 10.30pm
  • Chef's table
  • Wheelchair access

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login