Hot Dinners

Review

Gymkhana Hot


42 Albemarle Street, London W1S 4JH
Latest critic review: December 14, 2013
Critics' score: 8.5 out of 10 Users' score: 7.0 out of 10
Write Review

This restaurant is from Karam Sethi, the chef behind Michelin starred Trishna and he's taking the concept of colonial gymkhana clubs as a running theme, serving modern Indian food combined with British ingredients, with a focus on the tandoor oven and sigri charcoal grill.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on December 14, 2013
"With every bite of rich, light, soft, crispy, deep, shallow, high, low, spicy, bland, sweet, sour mouthful my palate was revitalised, my enthusiasm for the fray revivified." READ REVIEW

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on November 26, 2013
"This is a stunning addition, not just to the posh-curry fraternity, but to the entire restaurant landscape." READ REVIEW

Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 01, 2013
"...we had so much of Gymkhana’s splendour on our table I’d had to commandeer an adjacent table for the pomegranate raita and coastal spiced okra. I’m already booked to visit Gymkhana again. Life is too damn short for special occasions." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Nicholas Lander FT
Reviewed on October 25, 2013
"Sethi has created a restaurant that delivers highly labour-intensive and flavourful dishes with style and wit." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on October 20, 2013
"The Gymkhana menu is exemplary of the fine line between comforting and imaginative. The chef Karam Sethi, of the well-loved Trishna, has allowed his imagination a freer rein here." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed on October 17, 2013
"It’s impossible to know if we’ve got the best of Gymkhana; I suspect not. But if it was a club, I’d join, just for the drinks in the dark." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on October 13, 2013
"Give thanks, then, for Gymkhana, the new Mayfair restaurant from Karam Sethi of Trishna in Marylebone, which manages to be glossy and yet still deliver food with a serious kick and intent." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Camilla Long Sunday Times
Reviewed on October 06, 2013
"My lamb was delicious, if a little sharp, and the raita very sweet, but on the whole the food is fruity and adventurous and the cocktails are (in some ways sadly) memorable, especially the cognac, which tastes “like a lovely barbecue”." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on October 02, 2013
"Dinner one evening followed by lunch the next day has not even nearly exhausted all I want to try at Gymkhana, but based on what I did, I would urge anyone to choose the golden dosa fashioned into a tepee around long-cooked Chettinad duck served with coconut chutney and the wild Muntjac biryani served with pomegranate mint raita." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed by October 01, 2013
"Gymkhana isn’t without its faults. I’m hoping it will settle in and become clubbier. But it is fun and the food is exceptional." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Roopa Gulati Time Out
Reviewed on September 26, 2013
"Sethi lays on a splendid spread of modern Indian dishes based on regional masalas and marinades. Fried South Indian chicken wings, steeped in wispy gram-flour and chilli batter, pack a fiery kick, and make a tempting opener for dinner." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on September 25, 2013
"Quite how good Gymkhana is, though, came as quite a shock even to this particular fan of his previous work - it may even turn out to be, and I don't make this kind of superlative claim lightly, one of the best Indian restaurants in London." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on September 21, 2013
"Main-course-sized lamb nalli barra meant best-end chops and lamb shank chops, marinated in turmeric, ginger and cayenne pepper, that were falling-apart tender and tasty. In a side order of spiced okra, the often-slimy ladies' fingers were chopped up small and extremely yummy." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
7.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Yea it was alright I suppose.
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Reviewed by John Lyons January 02, 2014

Horsing Around

Yea it was alright I suppose.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Few have mentioned the stunningly good value set lunch menu. For the price (starting at £20 for two courses), it's eye poppingly good value and the chance to try this incredible food at a bargain price. The little touches (Poppadoms, beautiful chutneys) that are laid with charming ceremony at your table and the solicitous service would be a joy if the food didn't match but it does and delivers with punchy, mouth watering flavours and textures. Oh joy, I will be back.
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Reviewed by Alice October 16, 2013

Gymkhana

Few have mentioned the stunningly good value set lunch menu. For the price (starting at £20 for two courses), it's eye poppingly good value and the chance to try this incredible food at a bargain price. The little touches (Poppadoms, beautiful chutneys) that are laid with charming ceremony at your table and the solicitous service would be a joy if the food didn't match but it does and delivers with punchy, mouth watering flavours and textures. Oh joy, I will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address42 Albemarle Street, London W1S 4JH
Telephone number 020 3011 5900
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainGreen Park
Opening timesMonday to Saturday 12pm-2:30pm; 5:30pm-10:30pm
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login