Fera at Claridge's

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/0b/7d/60/fera-43-1402228575.jpg
49 Brook Street, Mayfair, London W1K 4HR
Latest critic review: June 27, 2014
Critics' score: 8 out of 10



Simon Rogan, also behind L'Enclume and Roganic, has taken over the main restaurant at Claridge's and completely revamped it while offering the same food that is so hugely popular at L'Enclume.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on June 27, 2014
"The price has more to do with Claridge’s ego than the restaurant itself, it seems to me. This, inevitably, fills the atmosphere with the desire to be Seen in Claridge’s. But the food isn’t at fault: most of it, indeed, is faultless." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 19, 2014
"This is ornate, laboriously concocted food, but importantly it is still food. Actual dinner that one wants to eat. The following four courses whizzed past without a bum note. I am not the world’s biggest steak tartare disciple, but Rogan’s raw beef on smoked broccoli cream with a hint of apple made me a convert." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on June 14, 2014
"Simon Rogan is probably the best chef now cooking in Britain, but this is not the best restaurant, or anything close to it. Perhaps because it arrives at a moment of crisis in the history of eating out, a time when we just do not know what we want." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 15, 2014
"I had no idea who the people eating here are: hotel guests probably, foodie-blog tourists. There was less sense of occasion than you find at Nando’s; it’s not that it’s not interesting, tasteful and comfortable; it’s just that an old, venerable, mannered ambience has been replaced with a new disordered and confused one. This is a dinner of finely mixed messages." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on June 03, 2014
"There are several highlights to the tasting menu, including duck hearts in a bowl of pureed potato and Winslade cheese; and an even more unlikely-sounding dish, grilled salad with Isle of Mull cheese, truffle custard and cobnuts. Bread is served as a course in itself with a mushroom broth on the side. It works." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 03, 2014
"So yes, I was always going to enjoy Fera. I am a shameless Simon Rogan fan, loved all his other restaurants and I consider this to be, while not quite on the level of the peerless L'Enclume, which has time and location on its side, still one of the few genuinely innovative and idiosyncratic restaurants in London." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on May 31, 2014
"But there is another problem, the one I whined about a few weeks ago. This is a tasting menu and none of the things you really want to eat – the duck hearts, the prawns, the brill, the pork – turn up in the portions you hope for. They are here and then gone." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed by May 24, 2014
"It can only be a matter for celebration that there's an evangelically British restaurant at the heart of a famous London hotel." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tom Parker Bowles Mail
Reviewed on May 24, 2014
"These sort of grand hotel dining rooms are not my natural hunting ground. But Fera has restored my faith in ‘feen deening’. It even tempered my hatred of the Tasting Menu. Rogan sure can cook. Bring on the shiny stars." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Darius Sanai GQ
Reviewed on June 20, 2014
"Fera is, rather, a place of pilgrimage if you're a foodie, a place to celebrate a big deal, or a destination for anyone seeking a memorable, luxury culinary experience." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on May 14, 2014
"Raphael Rodriguez giving us a genial deal on a replacement for suggested wine that wasn’t to our liking — stretches expenses to breaking point, and I wouldn’t pay my own money for this food. That is a judgment, is it not? My interest lies not in the idle weeds but in the sustaining corn." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 





More information

Address49 Brook Street, Mayfair, London W1K 4HR
Telephone number 020 7629 8860
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
train
  • Bond Street
  • Oxford Circus
Opening timesLunch 12:00 and 14:30
Dinner 18:30 and 22:00
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area
  • Chef's table

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares