Review

Cafe Murano Hot


33 St. James's Street, London SW1A 1HD
Latest critic review: March 30, 2014
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10 Users' score: 0.0 out of 10
Write Review

This sees Angela Hartnett taking over the site in St James which used to hold Gordon Ramsay's original Petrus restaurant (and where she was Head Chef). Expect "regionally focused dishes, at an accessible price-point, in a relaxed and informal atmosphere – the kind of restaurant I would enjoy eating in every day".

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on March 30, 2014
"The cheesecake was the only duff note, and it’s a risk I’d advise 10 times over for the experience overall: elegant, languorous fun." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 24, 2014
"If you go, it would be idiotic not to sling a serving of the large, grilled, garlic-heavy prawns on to your order as they’re one of the best things I've eaten this January." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed by December 12, 2013
"I don’t want to review my spinach and ricotta tortelli as much as compose a hymn to it. When I finish the dish, I feel like shouting ‘encore’. I should probably calm down – it’s just a plate of pasta, after all. But there’s just something thrilling about the little parcels of ethereally light cheese and veg in their gossamer-thin wrappers anointed with a simple butter sauce." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Camilla Long Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 08, 2013
"By the time we finish, the inhospitable curfew has been long forgotten, five hours have vanished, and the bartender is ladling grappa down my throat (“This one is meant to taste like an English country garden,” he purrs). I’d have thought five hours was a record given that the place only opened 10 days ago, but it isn’t even a record for today." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Yolanda Zappaterra Time Out
Reviewed on December 05, 2013
"Williams has a way to go before she reaches the standards of her mentor – let alone Hartnett's one-time mentor. But with a cuisine that’s a surefire winner when done authentically, the odds are on her side." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on December 01, 2013
"...am I daft to rattle off an almost entirely uncritical review? I used to work 100 yards from Café Murano and it was impossible to find a wonderful plate of pasta anywhere. For that alone, it deserves our love." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
Address33 St. James's Street, London SW1A 1HD
Telephone number 020 3371 5559
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainGreen Park

Powered by JReviews


New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners