Zoilo

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/41/96/ca/zoilo-50-1382985225.jpg
9 Duke Street, London W1U 3EG
Latest critic review: March 12, 2013


Zoilo

Argentine catering company Zoilo, who are also behind Casa Malevo, have been a big name at prestigious sporting events throughout the country, and now they've come to Marylebone with this new Argentinean restaurant focusing on sharing dishes.


Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on March 12, 2013
"Thereafter, another slight sense of anticlimax. Not that there’s anything wrong with the rest of the menu, just that – in a city that’s done quite well for Hispanic tapas-style dishes in recent times, and indeed for interesting and small plates generally – it was difficult to see that anything here really stands out, either by way of novelty or by way of of taste." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on February 22, 2013
"In brief, I loved Zoilo. It’s a charming little Central London find. Small, bold plates, delivered with affection. I mean culinary affection, although actual handsy affection from the Argentinian waiters would not be unpleasant." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on December 29, 2012
"Excellent dishes, every single one. And I couldn’t give less of a toss if they are not exactly what people eat every day in the country they supposedly come from." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on December 28, 2012
"Argentinian ojo de bife with chimmichurry (sic) is rib-eye of such majesty – savoury depths contained in meat of carbon-to-rosy tenderness, but with enough bite to remind you what your incisors are for – that you completely understand the national obsession." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 16, 2012
"We started with a sort of croquetta made from braised pig’s head and quince, which was so good I resented sharing it with myself." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed by December 06, 2012
"As a source of information on Argentinian cuisine, my mate is more forthcoming than staff at Zoilo. We don’t want hours of exposition, just a hand settling in but tonight they’re either enthusiastic but not attentive or busy and unbothered." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed on December 03, 2012
"Here, melted provoleta (Argentina's version of Italy's provolone cheese) comes prettily presented in a dinky cast-iron pan, with wafts of oregano rising from the chewy, salty mass." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 14, 2012
"Zoilo, claimed one of the many jolly staff, means bad boy, but I can’t find any evidence to back this up." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Eleanor Aldridge View London
Reviewed on November 14, 2012
" The menu might be slightly baffling, but you’ll leave desperate to come back and try the rest of it. South America’s second-largest country has so much more to offer than steak, and the proof is finally in the pudding." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 9 Duke Street, London W1U 3EG

Telephone number: 020 7486 9699

Cuisine: Argentine

Nearest station: Bond Street

Opening times: Last orders Mon-Sat: 12:00-22:30, Sun: 12:00-22:00

Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares