Marylebone

Zoilo

Zoilo

Argentine catering company Zoilo, who are also behind Casa Malevo, have been a big name at prestigious sporting events throughout the country, and now they've come to Marylebone with this new Argentinean restaurant focusing on sharing dishes.

Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on March 12, 2013
"Thereafter, another slight sense of anticlimax. Not that there’s anything wrong with the rest of the menu, just that – in a city that’s done quite well for Hispanic tapas-style dishes in recent times, and indeed for interesting and small plates generally – it was difficult to see that anything here really stands out, either by way of novelty or by way of of taste." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on February 22, 2013
"In brief, I loved Zoilo. It’s a charming little Central London find. Small, bold plates, delivered with affection. I mean culinary affection, although actual handsy affection from the Argentinian waiters would not be unpleasant." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on December 29, 2012
"Excellent dishes, every single one. And I couldn’t give less of a toss if they are not exactly what people eat every day in the country they supposedly come from." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on December 28, 2012
"Argentinian ojo de bife with chimmichurry (sic) is rib-eye of such majesty – savoury depths contained in meat of carbon-to-rosy tenderness, but with enough bite to remind you what your incisors are for – that you completely understand the national obsession." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 16, 2012
"We started with a sort of croquetta made from braised pig’s head and quince, which was so good I resented sharing it with myself." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Emma Sturgess Metro
Reviewed by December 06, 2012
"As a source of information on Argentinian cuisine, my mate is more forthcoming than staff at Zoilo. We don’t want hours of exposition, just a hand settling in but tonight they’re either enthusiastic but not attentive or busy and unbothered." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tania Ballantine Time Out
Reviewed on December 03, 2012
"Here, melted provoleta (Argentina's version of Italy's provolone cheese) comes prettily presented in a dinky cast-iron pan, with wafts of oregano rising from the chewy, salty mass." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 14, 2012
"Zoilo, claimed one of the many jolly staff, means bad boy, but I can’t find any evidence to back this up." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Eleanor Aldridge View London
Reviewed on November 14, 2012
" The menu might be slightly baffling, but you’ll leave desperate to come back and try the rest of it. South America’s second-largest country has so much more to offer than steak, and the proof is finally in the pudding." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 9 Duke Street, London W1U 3EG

Telephone number: 020 7486 9699

Cuisine: Argentine

Nearest station: Bond Street

Opening times: Last orders Mon-Sat: 12:00-22:30, Sun: 12:00-22:00

Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares