Marylebone

Texture Restaurant and Champagne Bar

Texture Restaurant and Champagne Bar

This opening by Icelandic chef Xavier Rousset caught the reviewers by surprise, opening up with little fanfare. The cuisine owes much to chef Xavier Rousset's training at Manoir a Quatre Saisons. Some reviewers found it overblown, but in the main most think this is an interesting addition to the London restaurant scene.

Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Kang Leung London Eater Estimated score
Reviewed on June 28, 2010
"If you were getting bored of French-Italian conventions, Texture might just be a pleasant change, if you were searching for one. I certainly enjoyed the distinctions, I think it is more than just a superficial concept and I think the food excelled." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Sabrina Ghayour Foodepedia
Reviewed on April 14, 2010
"The menu is largely straightforward and unpretentious and each dish takes a handful of great ingredients and fuses them together to make something uncomplicated, unfussy but utterly delicious." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on September 12, 2007
"The main course speciality is Icelandic-lamb from Skagafjordur served with a separate bowl of broth and barley. Extreme tenderness is the texture in this flavourful meat." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on September 29, 2007
"There's some startling ability here - online forums are already speculating about one and two-star possibilities." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 02, 2007
"Now don't get me wrong. Sverisson's cooking is technically brilliant; I'd say near-faultless." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on October 06, 2007
"It isn't often that I leave an upmarket London restaurant thinking: "When can I come back?" but that was the case with Texture." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Larushka Ivan Zadeh London Lite Estimated score
Reviewed on October 13, 2007
"If you can afford to swim with the City big boys, Texture's terrific - even better, hook one to take you there." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on October 14, 2007
"There is something rather dreamlike about Texture. Textbook tall, slim staff glide from table to table. The cooking, while technically complex, appears effortless and the flavours pure." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Feargus O'Sullivan thelondonpaper Estimated score
Reviewed by October 17, 2007
"But while dinner for two easily pushes past the £100 mark, lunch is £8.50 a course, making Texture one of the best value places in London to see where cuisine is heading." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on November 03, 2007
"It's all amazingly clever, isn't it?" observed my friend as we awaited the bill, "and you have to admire the technical mastery. The only problem is, you don't really want to eat it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Joe Joseph Times
Reviewed on November 03, 2007
"This is serious food... But, unlike a lot of flamboyantly precise modern European cooking, it is also quite a pleasure to eat." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 Christopher Hart Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 30, 2007
"But we couldn't help it, staring glumly down, thinking only "What fresh hell is this?", as Dorothy Parker used to every time the phone rang." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 34 Portman Street, London W1H 7BY

Telephone number: 020 7224 0028

Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 3 AA Rosettes

Nearest station: Marble Arch

Opening times: Tues-Sat: Lunch, noon-2.30pm, Dinner, 7-11pm.

  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

 

Contact info

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares