Texture Restaurant and Champagne Bar

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/39/96/39/20_texture_125952900781.jpg
34 Portman Street, London W1H 7BY
Latest critic review: June 28, 2010
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10



This opening by Icelandic chef Xavier Rousset caught the reviewers by surprise, opening up with little fanfare. The cuisine owes much to chef Xavier Rousset's training at Manoir a Quatre Saisons. Some reviewers found it overblown, but in the main most think this is an interesting addition to the London restaurant scene.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Kang Leung London Eater
Reviewed on June 28, 2010
"If you were getting bored of French-Italian conventions, Texture might just be a pleasant change, if you were searching for one. I certainly enjoyed the distinctions, I think it is more than just a superficial concept and I think the food excelled." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Sabrina Ghayour Foodepedia
Reviewed on April 14, 2010
"The menu is largely straightforward and unpretentious and each dish takes a handful of great ingredients and fuses them together to make something uncomplicated, unfussy but utterly delicious." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on September 12, 2007
"The main course speciality is Icelandic-lamb from Skagafjordur served with a separate bowl of broth and barley. Extreme tenderness is the texture in this flavourful meat." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on September 29, 2007
"There's some startling ability here - online forums are already speculating about one and two-star possibilities." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 02, 2007
"Now don't get me wrong. Sverisson's cooking is technically brilliant; I'd say near-faultless." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on October 06, 2007
"It isn't often that I leave an upmarket London restaurant thinking: "When can I come back?" but that was the case with Texture." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Larushka Ivan Zadeh London Lite
Reviewed on October 13, 2007
"If you can afford to swim with the City big boys, Texture's terrific - even better, hook one to take you there." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on October 14, 2007
"There is something rather dreamlike about Texture. Textbook tall, slim staff glide from table to table. The cooking, while technically complex, appears effortless and the flavours pure." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Feargus O'Sullivan thelondonpaper
Reviewed by October 17, 2007
"But while dinner for two easily pushes past the £100 mark, lunch is £8.50 a course, making Texture one of the best value places in London to see where cuisine is heading." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on November 03, 2007
"It's all amazingly clever, isn't it?" observed my friend as we awaited the bill, "and you have to admire the technical mastery. The only problem is, you don't really want to eat it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Joe Joseph Times
Reviewed on November 03, 2007
"This is serious food... But, unlike a lot of flamboyantly precise modern European cooking, it is also quite a pleasure to eat." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Christopher Hart Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 30, 2007
"But we couldn't help it, staring glumly down, thinking only "What fresh hell is this?", as Dorothy Parker used to every time the phone rang." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
 





More information

Address34 Portman Street, London W1H 7BY
Telephone number 020 7224 0028
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 3 AA Rosettes
trainMarble Arch
Opening timesTues-Sat: Lunch, noon-2.30pm, Dinner, 7-11pm.
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares