Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

Kurobuta

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/33/c4/a0/kurobuta-57-1402235981.jpg
17-20 Kendal Street, London W2 2AW
Latest critic review: September 28, 2014


Kurobuta

This is an izakaya or traditional Japanese style pub this September just by Marble Arch, from the former head chef of Nobu and most recently Wabi London. Open all day from early morning to late evening Kurobuta will have room for 80 and also serve up a range of dishes to go. A pop-up in Chelsea has been a big hit, so expect this to be huge too.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 7.5 Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on September 28, 2014
"However, it is almost uniformly delicious. The stand-outs are tea-smoked lamb with smoky nasu (aubergine) and spicy Korean miso – tender meat with a tongue-tingling glaze." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 2 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on August 17, 2014
"This place has come dressed like a medical-school rag week, and that’s not just because I’m recently old and my fuddies have all gone duddy: you need to be much, much older than I am to put up with any of this." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on August 11, 2014
"The only other downside (and again this may be more my failing than the restaurant’s) is that Kurobuta has infected with me such wickedly uncontrollable enthusiasm that I find myself pleading with everyone I meet to give it a try. It is, if I might plagiarise the delightful young Aussies who served us, ay-MAY-zing." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on August 10, 2014
"...if you can stomach the cost and the posing, this can be cooking with a capital C." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Zoe Wililams Telegraph
Reviewed on July 25, 2014
"The signature dish, the one that all the pleasant young things recommend, is barbecued pork belly in steamed buns, sweet, squidgy things, almost like a thick scotch pancake, with meat inside. I’m describing it to make it sound weird: clearly, this is because I fear a shortage. It was great." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on July 05, 2014
"I was entranced by Kurobuta: the inventiveness of Hallsworth's dishes, the profusion of flavours, the eagerness of the staff. Only a slight relentlessness of salting and chilli-ing let it down. It's the most appealing and taste-boggling restaurant I've found this year. I urge you to try it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Celia Plender Time Out
Reviewed by July 03, 2014
"From the on-trend ‘junk food’ options, such as wagyu beef sliders and spicy chicken wings, the steamed buns with barbecued pork belly and spicy, soy-based peanut sauce were just a little bland." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on June 07, 2014
"I ended the meal staggered, blown away as I have not been in a while. So what’s the story? Well, it turns out to be a pop-up. Or was, until they decided not to pop down again." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on May 02, 2014
"Japanese food is never going to be a cheap option, but here, not only is all the cooking of a very high standard but there enough twists and variations on the classic format to provide quite a bit of extra value for your outlay." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 30, 2014
"It is not so much an overload in quantity, more a remorseless hammering of the tastebuds by strident flavours and exaggerations of salt and sweet. And you know what? You can tire of umami." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 17-20 Kendal Street, London W2 2AW

Telephone number: 0203 475 4158

Cuisine: Japanese

  • Nearest Station: Edgware Road

  • Nearest Station: Marble Arch

Opening times: Monday - Sunday (9:00 TO 23:30)

Bar area

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Find them on Facebook

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares