Marylebone

Fischer's

Fischer's

Coming from the people behind the Wolseley, Brasserie Zedel and The Delaunay, this new restaurant is "be evocative of early 20th Century Vienna".

Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 7 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 13, 2014
"Of the half-dozen (sausages) on offer I especially enjoyed the käsekrainer, whose robust, porky, herb-infused body was filled with cheese (as its name suggested, even to me, with my streaky B in A-level German)." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on August 04, 2014
"“I know the food isn’t great, but it’s not about that,” one of us wisely declared. “I am so in love with this room – and after eating in Shoreditch at the weekend, I’m especially enjoying the older clientele. It’s unashamedly untrendy, and a restaurant for grown-ups.” " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed on August 03, 2014
"The Austrians of the Golden Era knew better than most that food is not the point of eating out at all; rather, delivered in the manner it is here, it's a facilitator for conversation in pleasant surroundings – that is, the height of civilization. At Fischer's, Corbin and King have brought the best of Vienna back to life." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on August 01, 2014
"This is that rarest of things: cool and timeless. It's on a site that has seen off two ambitious restaurants – Cafe Luc and Cotidie – in rapid succession, but I'm pretty sure I'll be back in a few decades' time, when the patina of genuine age will have made one of us look even better. I've a feeling that Fischer's will outlive us all." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on July 11, 2014
"So while they were much more sophisticated than your average frankfurter, being juicier, meatier, more delectable and definitely, positively not synthetic, they hadn’t done enough to distinguish themselves. It was all a bit burger bar – the thing, plus cheese, plus bacon, plus garnish, is still, in the end, the thing. But I want to finish all that by saying I loved them. I just love an Austrian sausage." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed by July 04, 2014
"The schnitzel had a decadently rich breadcrumb and was larger than my head. I ate as much as was feasible and the rest was taken home in a classy Fischer’s box and used for training bribes for my fat Labrador for two days. Or was it three? Actually, I think we’re still in the process of eating the schnitzel." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 29, 2014
"I imagine, given this company’s track record with feeding people what they want in the way they want it, Fischer’s will be a sustainable, popular success, though I think the kitchen still has some problems with seasoning, balance and harmony." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on June 12, 2014
"So for a little taste of Continental Europe before we had EU passports, Easyjet flights and the centre of power in Brussels, Fischer’s is a steal. The setback is that the celebs have already found it, which might mean the wait for the next free table could be as long as a steam-train ride through the Alps." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 12, 2014
"There’s no faulting the professionalism of Corbin & King’s delivery. Yet the reasons why there has not been an Austrian restaurant such as this in London remain." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 50 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 5HN

Telephone number: 020 7466 5501

Cuisine: Modern European

  • Nearest Station: Baker Street

  • Nearest Station: Regent's Park

Opening times: Monday to Saturday 8am - Last orders 11pm
Sunday 8am - Last orders 10.30pm

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares