Fischer's

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/17/2b/f0/fischers-36-1404143683.jpg
50 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 5HN
Latest critic review: September 13, 2014
Critics' score: 7 out of 10



Coming from the people behind the Wolseley, Brasserie Zedel and The Delaunay, this new restaurant is "be evocative of early 20th Century Vienna".

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 13, 2014
"Of the half-dozen (sausages) on offer I especially enjoyed the käsekrainer, whose robust, porky, herb-infused body was filled with cheese (as its name suggested, even to me, with my streaky B in A-level German)." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on August 04, 2014
"“I know the food isn’t great, but it’s not about that,” one of us wisely declared. “I am so in love with this room – and after eating in Shoreditch at the weekend, I’m especially enjoying the older clientele. It’s unashamedly untrendy, and a restaurant for grown-ups.” " READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Amol Rajan Independent
Reviewed on August 03, 2014
"The Austrians of the Golden Era knew better than most that food is not the point of eating out at all; rather, delivered in the manner it is here, it's a facilitator for conversation in pleasant surroundings – that is, the height of civilization. At Fischer's, Corbin and King have brought the best of Vienna back to life." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on August 01, 2014
"This is that rarest of things: cool and timeless. It's on a site that has seen off two ambitious restaurants – Cafe Luc and Cotidie – in rapid succession, but I'm pretty sure I'll be back in a few decades' time, when the patina of genuine age will have made one of us look even better. I've a feeling that Fischer's will outlive us all." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on July 11, 2014
"So while they were much more sophisticated than your average frankfurter, being juicier, meatier, more delectable and definitely, positively not synthetic, they hadn’t done enough to distinguish themselves. It was all a bit burger bar – the thing, plus cheese, plus bacon, plus garnish, is still, in the end, the thing. But I want to finish all that by saying I loved them. I just love an Austrian sausage." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Grace Dent Evening Standard
Reviewed by July 04, 2014
"The schnitzel had a decadently rich breadcrumb and was larger than my head. I ate as much as was feasible and the rest was taken home in a classy Fischer’s box and used for training bribes for my fat Labrador for two days. Or was it three? Actually, I think we’re still in the process of eating the schnitzel." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 29, 2014
"I imagine, given this company’s track record with feeding people what they want in the way they want it, Fischer’s will be a sustainable, popular success, though I think the kitchen still has some problems with seasoning, balance and harmony." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on June 12, 2014
"So for a little taste of Continental Europe before we had EU passports, Easyjet flights and the centre of power in Brussels, Fischer’s is a steal. The setback is that the celebs have already found it, which might mean the wait for the next free table could be as long as a steam-train ride through the Alps." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on June 12, 2014
"There’s no faulting the professionalism of Corbin & King’s delivery. Yet the reasons why there has not been an Austrian restaurant such as this in London remain." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
 





More information

Address50 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 5HN
Telephone number 020 7466 5501
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
train
  • Baker Street
  • Regent's Park
Opening timesMonday to Saturday 8am - Last orders 11pm
Sunday 8am - Last orders 10.30pm

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares