Medlar

http://www.hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/bc/23/d2/1076_medlar_130860142869.jpg
438 King’s Road, London SW10 0LJ
Latest critic review: October 14, 2012
Critics' score: 8 out of 10




Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on October 14, 2012
"ust know that Medlar is good, so much so that – should you care about these things – a week after our visit some tyre company gave it a star. It's on a roll. It's doing the thing. Go there." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 13, 2012
"For one of the best meals I've ever enjoyed in the capital, then, and for food and service of purest gold, I give you Medlar of Chelsea. Yet another reason that London is the greatest place to eat out in the world." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 07, 2011
"...I loved the simple excellence of the food so much that I went back with Esther the following week – it is the highest accolade I can give a place, to say I liked it so much I wanted to share it with her..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on October 07, 2011
"In short, you might say, Medlar has many of the qualities you might associate with the legendary 'perfect neighbourhood restaurant’." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on August 30, 2011
"The service, without being remotely intrusive, is impeccable, the cutest touch being how the sommelier decants every wine, even the comparative cheapos, from an unusually well balanced list." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on July 23, 2011
"Medlar is a perfect neighbourhood restaurant with no false notes." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on July 10, 2011
"Menus rarely come this well balanced and harmonious. There is nothing that shrieks of kitchen hubris or the sloaney nursery." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed by July 09, 2011
"Medlar is easy to admire for competence in every department – meat cooking, sauces, flavour combinations, pudding techniques – but a little hard to love." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6.5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on June 17, 2011
"Dish after dish wowed us with its balance of flavours and sublety of expression, such as a dessert of buttermilk panna cotta topped with English strawberries and crumbed pistachios - delicate and restrained, and all the better for it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on May 10, 2011
"...you get technically flawless dishes such as fat, single raviolo packed with crabmeat and beefed up with leek, samphire, brown shrimp and lobster bisque." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 28, 2011
"A restaurant like Medlar doesn't come along often these days, which is reason enough to hurry there." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 





More information

Address438 King’s Road, London SW10 0LJ
Telephone number 020 7349 1900
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainFulham Broadway
  • Private Hire available
  • Outside seating (weather permitting)

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares