Hot Dinners

Review

Dinner by Heston Blumenthal Hot


Mandarin Oriental Hotel, 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA
Latest critic review: March 22, 2014
Critics' score: 9 out of 10 Users' score: 8.9 out of 10
Write Review

Blumenthal's first London restaurant has 140 covers, serving lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Ashley Palmer-Watts who's been at the Fat Duck for nine years is head chef. Promised by Blumenthal to be an "upmarket bistro" featuring "historic British-influenced dishes" there will also be the chance to book private dining rooms to enjoy your own feast in the style of Heston's Channel 4 shows.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews

Critic Reviews

Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on June 22, 2011
"Dinner is a well-oiled machine, operating as smoothly as that pineapple roaster. But it’s not slaying me: too slick; too polished; too… Mandarin Oriental." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on March 20, 2011
"You couldn't feel let down here because it is simply too good, but you might feel – as I did – the lack of a wow moment..." READ REVIEW

John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed on March 12, 2011
"Main courses were excellent. The pork chop with sauce Robert was the best pork chop I've ever had: cooked sous-vide and finished on the grill, it was succulent, and the sauce, a demi-glace spiked with mustard, was amazing." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on February 27, 2011
"None of these dishes is the exercise in miniaturism that Blumenthal practises at the Fat Duck in Bray. They are bigger, more boisterous; a hug rather than a tickle. But the same absurd obsessive-compulsive attention to detail has gone into all of them, and it shows." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on February 19, 2011
"My husband, a man not given to needless praise and positively averse to hype, says it is the best meal he's ever eaten in a restaurant." READ REVIEW

Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on February 14, 2011
"Blumenthal and Palmer-Watts aren’t wacky scientists experimenting for the sake of novelty or to shock. They’re creative chefs who are expanding the boundaries of British cuisine, in this case by digging deep into the past." READ REVIEW

AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on February 13, 2011
"This is an exemplary menu of perfect balance and brilliance. The preparation and the concept manage to be a very British contrariness, both comforting and surprising, inventive but familiar." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on February 12, 2011
"When the hyperbole and hysteria around Dinner subside, it will be clear that while it may not be "the best restaurant in the world", as one over-excited critic has anointed it, it is certainly a world-class restaurant, which takes British food to another level." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9.5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on February 09, 2011
"Some dishes exceed expectations, others can raise false hopes. Yet all the dishes are beautifully plated, in haute cuisine style." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on February 07, 2011
"The sheer effort, attention to detail and astonishing skill that went into every single element of the dishes we ate on Saturday, as well as service from a front of house team that were as attentive and knowledgable as you could ever hope for, made the whole experience a complete joy from start to finish." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on February 07, 2011
"The best thing of all about Dinner is a quality never before associated with a Michelin deity. It is colossal fun." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Alex James The Sun
Reviewed on February 04, 2011
"His food was the best I've ever had. It made the second-best restaurant I've been to seem old-fashioned." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
Richard & Peter Harden's
Reviewed on February 03, 2011
"This is a worthwhile addition to London, over which The Fat Duck’s chef has wafted an admirable sprinkling of inspiration. And it’s reasonably enough priced... by the standards of Knightsbridge hotels." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed by February 03, 2011
"What tipped the meal into four-star territory were the desserts. Pastry chef James "Jockey" Petrie is a brilliant, apparently rather scary practitioner." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Marc DiFrancia View London
Reviewed on February 02, 2011
"There's no doubt that Dinner is going to be a runaway hit. It has everything it needs to be a success, not least thanks to its amazing culinary creations." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
Giles Coren The Times
Reviewed on February 02, 2011
"Only once in my life, the first time that I went to El Bulli, the now extinct former “Best Restaurant in the World”, have I had an experience comparable." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 10
Matthew Fort Guardian
Reviewed on February 02, 2011
"From time to time I had to remind myself that these were British dishes. Dinner reclaims and reinvents our own cooking heritage, reinvigorating the tired and ordinary orthodoxies of traditional British cooking." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.9  (7)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall rating
Comments
Please enter the security code.
The food is what you expect - top top quality. What really make this place special is the staff and their service. They know how to make a meal really good fun.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Juerg Mueller November 12, 2013

Great food, great fun

The food is what you expect - top top quality. What really make this place special is the staff and their service. They know how to make a meal really good fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Okay, we went last night,
It was all good food... But there was nothing massively different..
No exploding puddings, nothing you couldn't get elsewhere..
I thought all his work was about being different...
Whilst it didn't meet expectations the food was good the people were overly attentive and the price well the price was rather high as expected..

Thought the Gavroche was allot better ...
Overall rating 
 
7.0
Kish Khan Reviewed by Kish Khan January 18, 2012

Where was the excitement ?

Okay, we went last night,
It was all good food... But there was nothing massively different..
No exploding puddings, nothing you couldn't get elsewhere..
I thought all his work was about being different...
Whilst it didn't meet expectations the food was good the people were overly attentive and the price well the price was rather high as expected..

Thought the Gavroche was allot better ...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Superb dining experience.
Gorgous food, impeccable service, beautiful atmosphere.
We brought our gastonomy loving children (both under 10) and they were treated like adults - so lovely to see.
Loved it!
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Sonja Jankovic Reviewed by Sonja Jankovic December 22, 2011

Superb dining experience.
Gorgous food, impeccable service, beautiful atmosphere.
We brought our gastonomy loving children (both under 10) and they were treated like adults - so lovely to see.
Loved it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Sleek and industrial from start to finish with a small blip. The service was impressive; very professional and thoughtful. However, there was a few errors e.g. unordered items made appearance on the bill, the wooden floor made the footsteps of the staffs a little bit too noticeable, water was spilled while being poured, etc (I am a bit too critical here).

Same went to the food. Overall, the food was really impressive. The fruit meat was genius and fun. The mandarin jelly was a nice companion for a very smooth liver parfait. The only criticism was the bread which was charred a bit too much and with a bit too much oil. The char and the oil nearly overpowered the liver. Pork chop was one of the best I've tried. Thick cut of meat, juicy and succulent...but made even better by the addition of spelt and ham parcel. Triple cooked chips were just perfect. Tipsy cake was basically splendid. The brioche was warm, moist and custardy accompanied by a perfectly spit roasted piece of pineapple. Perfect dessert for autumn and winter.

I really love the interior of the restaurant. Floor-to-ceiling glass window with a view of Hyde Park on one side and a view of semi-open kitchen on the other.

Dinner is a great restaurant serving fantastic food with great service. It truly deserves the hype and a Michelin star. However, there are still a few things to be addressed to bring it to perfection and, well, the second star!
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Pat November 08, 2011

Wonderful

Sleek and industrial from start to finish with a small blip. The service was impressive; very professional and thoughtful. However, there was a few errors e.g. unordered items made appearance on the bill, the wooden floor made the footsteps of the staffs a little bit too noticeable, water was spilled while being poured, etc (I am a bit too critical here).

Same went to the food. Overall, the food was really impressive. The fruit meat was genius and fun. The mandarin jelly was a nice companion for a very smooth liver parfait. The only criticism was the bread which was charred a bit too much and with a bit too much oil. The char and the oil nearly overpowered the liver. Pork chop was one of the best I've tried. Thick cut of meat, juicy and succulent...but made even better by the addition of spelt and ham parcel. Triple cooked chips were just perfect. Tipsy cake was basically splendid. The brioche was warm, moist and custardy accompanied by a perfectly spit roasted piece of pineapple. Perfect dessert for autumn and winter.

I really love the interior of the restaurant. Floor-to-ceiling glass window with a view of Hyde Park on one side and a view of semi-open kitchen on the other.

Dinner is a great restaurant serving fantastic food with great service. It truly deserves the hype and a Michelin star. However, there are still a few things to be addressed to bring it to perfection and, well, the second star!

Was this review helpful to you? 
A last minute flight of fancy led us to call up and book for lunch. It took no time at all to hit the right buttons on the telephone and get through to make our booking. On arrival we were greeted by the smiliest team of waiters, maitre de (s) and support staff. The atmosphere in the room was eclectic to say the least. A family of tourists sat behind us with two well-behaved boys (both under 12), a few ladies were lunching, there were a smattering of foodies and a lot of curious others (us included) all excited by the lunch-time set menu. We were not disappointed.

The lemon salad and goats curd was abundant, tasty and hit the mark to clear our palates and fill the gap as we headed for the mains. The pigs ears on toast were incredibly fulsome in flavour although not as filling or abundant as the salad. It was the mains I am afraid where we felt the restaurant only hit a 9.0 and not 10 out of 10.....the salmon was cooked to perfection but (and I hate to say it) a little boring. Nice with the beetroot and you couldn’t fault the flavour but no wow-factor. On the other side of the table my guests were warned the quail was going to be served pink, no deducted points for communication - but was not as tasty as one would have liked. The supporting cast for the quail was a little lacking and overall we felt the dish just didn’t deliver.

Pudding made up for everything, I loved the chocolate wine and the salty sweetness of the millionaires tart finished off the perfect lunch. But it was the orange buttered loaf which we all agree was the winning dish - deepfried, caramelly, orangey goodness with a lovely sweet sorbet to help you feel like you have achieved one of your five a day. A superb crispy white wine was recommended, not too pricey which us to feel like we had been spoilt rotten without being utterly ripped off.

A little gift from Heston at the end by way of a ..... well I won't ruin it - a lovely touch and totally unnecessary as we left smiling and full.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Rachel June 15, 2011

Almost perfect

A last minute flight of fancy led us to call up and book for lunch. It took no time at all to hit the right buttons on the telephone and get through to make our booking. On arrival we were greeted by the smiliest team of waiters, maitre de (s) and support staff. The atmosphere in the room was eclectic to say the least. A family of tourists sat behind us with two well-behaved boys (both under 12), a few ladies were lunching, there were a smattering of foodies and a lot of curious others (us included) all excited by the lunch-time set menu. We were not disappointed.

The lemon salad and goats curd was abundant, tasty and hit the mark to clear our palates and fill the gap as we headed for the mains. The pigs ears on toast were incredibly fulsome in flavour although not as filling or abundant as the salad. It was the mains I am afraid where we felt the restaurant only hit a 9.0 and not 10 out of 10.....the salmon was cooked to perfection but (and I hate to say it) a little boring. Nice with the beetroot and you couldn’t fault the flavour but no wow-factor. On the other side of the table my guests were warned the quail was going to be served pink, no deducted points for communication - but was not as tasty as one would have liked. The supporting cast for the quail was a little lacking and overall we felt the dish just didn’t deliver.

Pudding made up for everything, I loved the chocolate wine and the salty sweetness of the millionaires tart finished off the perfect lunch. But it was the orange buttered loaf which we all agree was the winning dish - deepfried, caramelly, orangey goodness with a lovely sweet sorbet to help you feel like you have achieved one of your five a day. A superb crispy white wine was recommended, not too pricey which us to feel like we had been spoilt rotten without being utterly ripped off.

A little gift from Heston at the end by way of a ..... well I won't ruin it - a lovely touch and totally unnecessary as we left smiling and full.

Was this review helpful to you? 
We had lunch at Dinner by Heston and it was a real experience. The dining room is airy and light with full length windows looking out onto Hyde Park and, for those lucky enough, a view into the glass boxed kitchen to see the culinary delights taking shape.
We started with the meat fruit and the porridge - the latter being my highlight - oats cooked in herbs - like a risotto in terms of consistency - with sweet, tender cod cheeks. The meat fruit didn't fail to impress either - possibly the smoothest, lightest parfait humanly achievable. Main courses were equally sublime - Powdered Duck and the the BlackFoot Pork Chop - the meat in each so tender it almost melted on the tongue. Dessert was the tipsy cake - reminiscent of school dinners in an oh so good way - and the only thing that didn't do it for me - the brown bread ice cream, the tartness of which was just too much of a challenge for the savoury/sweet salted caramel sauce that accompanied it. All washed down by a lovely bottle of red - although the wine list prices are fairly eye watering. A meal to remember and definitely a place to return to should I be so lucky.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Reviewed by Aoife O'Reilly February 28, 2011

What an experience!

We had lunch at Dinner by Heston and it was a real experience. The dining room is airy and light with full length windows looking out onto Hyde Park and, for those lucky enough, a view into the glass boxed kitchen to see the culinary delights taking shape.
We started with the meat fruit and the porridge - the latter being my highlight - oats cooked in herbs - like a risotto in terms of consistency - with sweet, tender cod cheeks. The meat fruit didn't fail to impress either - possibly the smoothest, lightest parfait humanly achievable. Main courses were equally sublime - Powdered Duck and the the BlackFoot Pork Chop - the meat in each so tender it almost melted on the tongue. Dessert was the tipsy cake - reminiscent of school dinners in an oh so good way - and the only thing that didn't do it for me - the brown bread ice cream, the tartness of which was just too much of a challenge for the savoury/sweet salted caramel sauce that accompanied it. All washed down by a lovely bottle of red - although the wine list prices are fairly eye watering. A meal to remember and definitely a place to return to should I be so lucky.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow says it all, the food was amazing but just that little bit different, the staff friendly but professional and the room has a lovely outlook. We were suckers for the reviews and I amde sure that one of our group had the meat fruit which was differnt but delicious. The mackerel, scallops and chicken oysters (muscles behind the wing of a chicken, very nicely explained and not patronising) were all great.

Then in any other restaurant for us all to have steak would have been boring but I shared a wing of rib, best taste ever, the 72 hour cooked steak had a completely different taste and the sirloin again cooked a different way was sublime. We shared a tipsy pudding and could have eaten another one.

Drinks were expensive but this an amazing restaurant in a 5 star hotel in london so you just have to be careful. It certainly had the wow factor.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Reviewed by Kathryn Rosebery February 23, 2011
Last updated: February 23, 2011

Wow

Wow says it all, the food was amazing but just that little bit different, the staff friendly but professional and the room has a lovely outlook. We were suckers for the reviews and I amde sure that one of our group had the meat fruit which was differnt but delicious. The mackerel, scallops and chicken oysters (muscles behind the wing of a chicken, very nicely explained and not patronising) were all great.

Then in any other restaurant for us all to have steak would have been boring but I shared a wing of rib, best taste ever, the 72 hour cooked steak had a completely different taste and the sirloin again cooked a different way was sublime. We shared a tipsy pudding and could have eaten another one.

Drinks were expensive but this an amazing restaurant in a 5 star hotel in london so you just have to be careful. It certainly had the wow factor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Map and more information

Swap Start/End
AddressMandarin Oriental Hotel, 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA
Telephone number 020 7201 3833
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
Michelin star 2 Michelin stars
trainKnightsbridge
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Test Drive

Hot Dinners Recommends

New and coming soon

More from Hot Dinners

Login